Skip to content

Yahtzee!

July 14, 2010
tags: ,

It’s time for Your Know You’re a Mom When-sDaze

You should link up and tell us how you know you’re a mom or dad!

Here goes.

You know you’re a mom when you really are tired of Yahtzee. Like as in, the sound of the dice in that cup kind of grates on your nerves. But, when this little fellow with the bed head brings it on the porch every morning of his life, you can’t say no.

Those puffy eyes and the bed head, combined with the fact that he wants to play this with me, every single morning, make it impossible for me not to start looking for a large straight or four of a kind.

Especially since he tries to wake up before his brothers, so he and I have this to ourselves.  It’s my Mack time. And though, I’d sort of like to switch to Clue or something, he’s a Yahtzee guy and it’s what we do.

I need to get this published, because he’ll be coming down soon, with sleepy eyes and a box in his hand!

****Sorry about the icky pictures. He hates the camera and I just snapped these and didn’t even look at the settings. And am too darn lazy to edit! ;(

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 8:37 am

    That sounds like a great morning. I feel like this about rummy with my sister. I’m sick of the game but it’s our “us” time.

  2. July 14, 2010 8:40 am

    I feel chastized. 😦 I need to quit finding excuses not to play monopoly with my oldest. Dang it!

  3. July 14, 2010 9:23 am

    He’s such a cutie! Yahtzee used to be one of my favorite games. Haven’t played in forever. I think it’s awesome that he wants to play with you first thing in the morning before his brothers wake up. But I also understand the need for change. Sweet boy!

  4. July 14, 2010 9:23 am

    YAHTZEE!!

    Though clearly the opposite intention, this post has desperately made me want to play yahtzee.

  5. July 14, 2010 11:10 am

    I love that he wakes up early so that he can have one-on-one time with you. He’s going to really cherish the fact that you made the effort for him. And for what it’s worth, I think the pictures turned out great!

  6. July 14, 2010 11:34 am

    Even your “icky” pictures look way better than mine! It’s so sweet that he wants to play with you each morning, one on one. But I also totally get you being a little tired of the game. I have a couple of things that my kids always want me to play with them, and secretly I want to jump off a cliff rather than play those games again, but I don’t because I love my kids. The things we mothers do!

  7. July 14, 2010 12:01 pm

    First of all, I happen to love the pictures. I always do.

    Second of all, how sweet is that that he wakes up earlier than the rest so he can have some one on one with mama?!? How on earth could you say no?

  8. July 14, 2010 12:03 pm

    It’s like your special time together each day! He probably looks forward to it. Sweet boy.

  9. July 14, 2010 1:37 pm

    Okay, this made me tear up. What a sweet boy you have. I have two young sons and to imagine them some day rushing downstairs to spend one one one time with me is something I hope I achieve.

  10. July 14, 2010 2:06 pm

    I play with my nieces, and I know what you mean about getting sick of it. But how can you say no to that sweet face, huh?!

  11. July 14, 2010 2:40 pm

    Aw that’s so great to have that time! 🙂 I used to LOVE Yahtzee when I was younger. Still do! ^_^

  12. July 14, 2010 3:18 pm

    That is so sweet! I would play too. He’s a cutie. I can’t wait until my kids are old enough for me to start making memories like this one with them. I love babies and toddlers, but it will be fun to be able to interact with them more.

  13. July 14, 2010 4:35 pm

    Haha! Lovely, lovely lighting. So jealous! I tried to get mine (who’s 13) to play Scrabble with me yesterday. He kind of looked at me cross-eyed and went back to playing Rock Band on the XBox. I miss the days of board games …

    Enjoy them! (PS – you’ve got SUCH a cutie!)

  14. July 14, 2010 9:11 pm

    What a sweet tradition! I’m sure that’s something he’ll remember for a long time!

  15. July 14, 2010 9:25 pm

    Your pictures look awesome, just like his awesome Mom! You rock! I wish I could be more in routine so I’d have a special time to dedicate to each one of my children. I’m so totally spur of the moment and always go, go, go.

  16. July 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    That is so sweet. Although I would kill for Yahtzee as a change from the Lets Put This Piece of Plastic Up Between Our Faces And Stare At Each Other From An Inch Away Through It game that I’ve been playing for hours every day this week. Something to look forward to when he’s older, I guess.

  17. July 15, 2010 4:42 pm

    So sweet that he wakes up early to have time alone with you. Those are the moments you’ll remember forever, I bet.

  18. July 16, 2010 2:53 am

    OK, that is adorable that he wants to get up early to play just with you though… That seriously makes my heart melt! What a sweet boy!!

  19. Monica permalink
    July 16, 2010 9:43 am

    God love you for playing Yahtzee every morning! I have two more for you if dare to introduce new games into your repertoire – Pass the Pigs and Bananagrams! Both are kid friendly. Pass the Pigs is kind of like Yahtzee only without the numbers. Bananagrams is like your own personal game of Scrabble, but you play with other people.

    My kids love them!

    • July 16, 2010 3:10 pm

      Monica, I love Bananagrams! Haven’t tried Pass the Pigs yet, but I will certainly look for it! I really like board games. Blockus is fun. Why he’s so hung up on Yahtzee is beyond me!

  20. July 17, 2010 12:53 pm

    The minute I read your post, I could actually HEAR the sound of the dice in the cup……I totally understand!

Leave a Reply

