Skip to content

Christmas in July

July 17, 2010

Christmas has a tendency to really sneak up on me. 

Sometimes, I’m very last-minute with my shopping.  *Gasp*

But, this year, huh-uh. No Way. Not me. 

Last night, I stumbled into gift shop heaven.

I took the boys here.

Not to the bar and grill, but to the arcade and rides that are here in Garden City, just across the street from the pier. I’ll post some pictures of my kids flying though the air attached to bungee cords soon.

It’s a good time.

For them.

For me, it’s a big old beg-fest. But, I know this going in though and being realistic about my expectations sort of takes the edge off the begging.

In my younger days, I spent a good bit of time in this arcade. I can play a mean skee ball,(even though these machines are not the originals and are a travesty in my opinion) am hard to beat at air hockey and can take names with the old Ms.Pacman game.  All fine skills to hone as a kid spending her summers in a beach town.

So, on this trip,I fed the token machine about $15.

Out spit some tokens and they were off.

Notice the three tickets dangling from the old skee-ball machine.  This was his biggest winning streak. 

And proud he was.

In all, he scored 6 tickets. 

All waiting to be cashed in at the “World’s Largest Redemption Center.”(spoken with echo)  Their words, not mine.

Sam, who is always “on” for the camera, could barely break into a grimace, he was so overcome with excitement.  He was, after all, going to the “World’s Largest Redemption Center”[don’t forget the echo] with six tickets in his hot little hands.  Who wouldn’t be excited  wondering what treasures await?

Mack came out some better.  And  he was also ready to spend his hard-earned tickets.  All 15 of them.

Adam scored 83 tickets.  He tried his hand at skee ball and did pretty good until he decided to go for the (lame)machines that you feed tokens into and they eventually spit out tickets.  I’m not a fan. If you’re going to have the honor of spending your tickets in the “World’s Largest Redemption Center,” then, by golly, you should have earned them with some Whack-a-mole at the very least.

So, my three jacked up boys and I entered the “World’s Largest Redemption Center.”  And I knew I’d found the place to do my Christmas shopping.  There were gifts for everyone on my list. 

Who on my list wouldn’t want a “Babe in the Wild”? What’s not to love?

 Just look at them, I mean, they are mutants hybrids.  And for the bargain price of 1800 tickets.

It’s a show special, after all.  Seriously, it’s the best of both worlds. A stuffed animal and a baby doll.  I’ve got my eye on this for my mother in law.  She is going to love it! She’s got ten grandchildren and I could easily see it as a family heirloom.  Purchased at the “World’s Largest Redemption Center.” [center enter nter]<—inaudible echo And for my best friend Holly.  This object d’art.  She really likes boats, and likes to float in the water.  And I’ve seen her with some interesting hats on.  This just begs to live with her in New Mexico.  Surely, she’ll think of our little family each and every time she dusts it.

And as for the happy recipient of this merry band of clowns, well they had better be living right.  At 1600 tickets for the entire set, according to my calculations, they’ll only cost me, $226.52.  And that’s only if my kids skee ball skills don’t improve.  Heck, we could easily shave $10 off of that estimate by summer’s end.

 I know, I know, I’ve got a charmed life.  But, don’t be jealous.  You too, could take some of these treasures home to your loved ones if you choose to visit the “World’s Largest Redemption Center” in beautiful Garden City, SC.

Start now though, otherwise, you’ll never get enough tickets to purchase the warm and cozy throw blanket with the big eyed cherubs resting their faces in their hands.   You know the one.

P.S.  Our tickets purchased one of those woven tubes that you stick your fingers in, Chinese handcuffs. A Dumdum sucker.  And a tattoo. Sweet.

P.S.S.  If you said, “What the….?” Then you totally got the point of this post and should visit the “What the…?” meme.  Sonora and Stacey are a lot of fun, you’ll really like them!
Stacey's Mothering Moments - What the...? Week

P.S.S.S.  If you are booking air fare right now so that you can Christmas shop at the “World’s Largest Redemption Center,” I cannot be your friend.

P.S.S.S.S. When Adam(11), my night owl got up this morning, he had a tale to tell.  He was all alone and his thumbs were stuck in his prize.  He had a moment or two of anxiety and decided it would be better to break it than to wake me up.(good call Adam!)  It had to be broken in order to free his thumbs.  I’m not even sure what to say about that.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 7:23 am

    This is hysterical. I love me some ski-ball.

  2. July 17, 2010 7:34 am

    This is sooooooooooo funny! Look at you being all sarcastic and snarky, too! I loved the humor. And I really loved the echo. 🙂

  3. July 17, 2010 9:03 am

    yes, good call adam. if i’d been woken up the toy would’ve been broken anyway.

  4. July 17, 2010 9:10 am

    Oh my gosh HILARIOUS post! ^_^

  5. July 17, 2010 9:26 am

    That was so stinkin’ funny! But you are NOT allowed to shop for me ever! LOL I wonder how long those prizes have been sitting there? Thanks for playing along!

  6. July 17, 2010 9:48 am

    Those mutants are really creepy. Really. Who thinks of this stuff?
    I’d love to see your best friends face when she unwrapped the lovely boated treasure.

  7. July 17, 2010 9:53 am

    Love Skee-ball. My boys used to go crazy in these places too and we’d end up with many, many future landfill items. Those Babes in the Wild are strangely repulsive and at the same time intriguing. I am really, really glad they are high ticket items.

  8. July 17, 2010 10:18 am

    Hahahahaha! That is too funny! I love skee-ball, but seriously, who would spend 1800 tickets on that dolly thingy? What a smart kid not to wake you up, although it is really sad he had to break his toy! Thanks for playing along! This post was perfect!

  9. Holly permalink
    July 17, 2010 10:31 am

    As I read your post and get to the pic of the mutant babes I let out a sigh of relief that we don’t exchange Christmas gifts. AND THEN I see what you would pick for me! You DO know that as a child my job was to dust all of the “what nots” that were bestowed upon my pastoral parents!! Let’s save you some postage this year because looks like you have a lot of shopping to do for others! And the clowns?!, we won’t even go there!

  10. July 17, 2010 11:44 am

    You are so funny! I’ve never seen such weird prizes at a redemption center. I laughed all through this post. : )

  11. July 17, 2010 11:46 am

    I love it when you make me laugh! You should go back and get one of those Chinese Handcuffs to keep in your nightstand drawer. Just cause. Maybe you’ll find a use for it. You never know.

  12. July 17, 2010 1:58 pm

    LOL!!! I haven’t been to that arcade in like 15 years!!

  13. July 17, 2010 7:42 pm

    Haha, I actually did a similar post about my quest to have our kids meet Santa :). Those arcades bring out this competitive streak in me I can’t seem to reign in.

  14. July 17, 2010 7:56 pm

    I remember going to places like that as a kid, and trying to save my tickets so I could “save up” for a big prize (though the stuffed babies are kind of freaky). I never could quite leave without spending them though, so I would end up with stupid stuff like stickers or a giant candy bar. I definitely chuckled about Adam with the finger cuffs. Great post!

  15. July 18, 2010 3:34 am

    I. Can’t. Stop. Laughing.

    Oh my gosh, this is just hilarious!

    And I am loving all the P.S.’s (which I don’t really think is something that can be pluralized, but I’m doing it!

    Poor poor Adam!

  16. July 18, 2010 11:44 am

    This is hysterical! I, too, love Skee-Ball but sadly I never won enough tickets for something as wonderful as a Babe in the Wild. Such a sad, deprived childhood I had!

  17. July 18, 2010 1:51 pm

    I AM so jealous, you have almost your whole gift list wrapped up in one place!

    The hybrid-creepy dolls/stuffed animals have me creeped out, and I just may dream about them….and not in a good way.

    I have calculated before the cost of some of these items at our local game place, and it’s amazing! Such a deal….yet, it took my son years to figure out why he wasn’t really “winning” the prizes…mommy was paying for them!

  18. July 18, 2010 6:25 pm

    O.K…friend…I have never seen those types of prizes!! Where do you live again? ha ha

    I’ve missed you!! I couldn’t wait to come visit your blog and you did not disappoint! Thanks for the laugh!!

  19. July 18, 2010 7:45 pm

    I love you and I love this post. That is all.

Leave a Reply

