Skip to content

A Hot Mess

July 26, 2010

I’ve got moths! What on earth can I do?  We’ve been gone most of the summer, and were pretty busy last week and I didn’t cook.  But, it looks like I’m going to be home for a few days 😦 and so I made a run to the grocery store. 

I bought loads of good stuff.  Including two bunches of kale.  I’ve been dying to try a salad and some kale chips that Kristin at Peace Love and Muesli featured. 

But,when I started unloading groceries and putting things in the pantry, I was met by no less than 9,000 tiny moths. 

They were in everything. 

I was sick.  I had to unload my entire pantry.  It was spread all over my kitchen and breakfast room.  I almost took a picture, but thought if you saw some of the junk that came out of there that you’d judge me, so I thought better of it.  I’ve already got moths, who needs judgement?

Did you know that moths get into plastic bags? Even Ziploc bags.  And they seem to favor masa harina over all-purpose flour, self rising flour, wheat flour, biscuit flour, muffin mix, cake mix, brownie mix, and corn meal.  It’s true.   They ate a portion of the bag and made cocoons all over it.  Disgusting.

I even had their maggots(gag) in our tin foil box.  Never has an invasion been so thorough or repulsive. 

I’m sick about how much food went to waste.  I had to throw away so much, it felt sinful.

To make a painful situation just a little more icky.  My husband decided last week that he’d finally landscape our house.  We’ve only been in for nine months, and he is a landscaper, so that’s probably about right. 

So, he used some piece of big equipment and leveled our front yard, the grass we had, “was just to get us by”, he said.  So, our yard was a hot mess.  We live in the land of red clay. And it is so dusty right now. 

We also just got new playroom furniture.  Saturday.  It spent the night strewn all over the house, but needed to be moved upstairs.  So, Wayne’s brother, wife and three kids came last night to move it.   And my hot mess of a house wasn’t embarrassing at all!*cringe*

So, my pantry threw up all over the kitchen and breakfast room, bugs were displaced and homeless, flying everywhere you looked.  The kids spent the entire day tracking in a combination of red mud and dust. And there are sheets of plastic, bits of crumbled styrofoam, and cardboard boxes all over the house.  (At this point, the kids have turned the boxes into a sort of city and have completely ignored the furniture!)

My refrigerator is full of the stuff I bought yesterday.  Stuff I don’t refrigerate, like cereal, crackers, microwave popcorn.  You name it, it’s crammed in the fridge. 

I found some spray for flying insects, so I sprayed the pantry.  And that seemed scary.  Putting pesticides in my own pantry.  So, then I had to wipe the whole thing down with Clorox wipes, the walls, shelves and floor.   

I washed every can and bottle and put them back in the pantry. 

And I’m hoping they’ll just go away.  I may buy fly tape.  God help me. 

I haven’t gotten out of bed yet. 

Do you blame me? I’ve got so much to do today just to get this house livable.  And I HATE cleaning when it’s just the normal stuff. 

When it’s a hot mess like it is today, shoot me!

And it rained last night. 

And I still have no grass. 

And I have three boys.

And they go outside.

And inside.

And outside.

And inside.

Pray for me.

 

P.S. Suggestions about the moth issue would be welcomed!

This week, I feel that the “hot mess” that is my current life situation should allow me to be considered as a candidate for promotion in the Nerd Mafia.   If you know somebody, put in a word for me.  Okay?

header 150x150

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 8:52 am

    I think you can only get moths once per lifetime so you should be safe now. Courage!!

  2. July 26, 2010 8:52 am

    Ok girl, this is my moth story and what worked for me. These pantry moths are just plain wicked in the South. So, I have a fairly large walk in pantry. Kind of huge, really. And I noticed these moths one day. I went through the food and yes, they were in everything, even in between the folds of the paper bags I have saved. It was awful having to throw away all those cereals and rices and flours and well…you know. I bought the tape and within a week the tape strips were coated. I know, nasty. I bought more tape and more and they just kept coming.

    It got to the point where my pantry was almost bare and they were still coming. I could not figure it out. And then, one day, to my horror I realized why there were so many of them. I have adjustable shelves and so there are these holes in the walls where you can move the shelves up and down. There are thousands of them. I am not kidding, thousands. I got a toothpick and stuck it in one of the holes and sorry to be so gross, but yes, moth larvae came out. I stuck it in the next hole and the next and realized larvae was in each one of them. I went online and read that they do lay thousands of eggs a day.

    I felt sick. I yanked all the food out and spent two days coating each of those holes in bleach. I hate pesticides and I don’t use them in my house and even though this infestation was horrifying, I still refused to use pesticide, especially around my food.

    Once I treated the pantry and let it air out, I put all the food back. Everything was great…for about 4 months and then they were back. I checked the holes and yes.

    So, I gave up. I pulled everything back out of the pantry which was full again and my husband sprayed the pantry with pesticide, paying special attention to all the holes. I was so paranoid about the pesticide, I kept my pantry belongings sitting out all over the kitchen for the next week.

    It did the trick. But along with the pesticide, I leave all my rices and flours in the refrigerator now. According to the manager of my local Publix, the moths invade rices the most, and then flours. So all of that stays in the fridge. It has been over a year now and knock on wood, we’re moth free. Occasionally, I will see moth larvae in the corners of the pantry. They like to lay eggs where the ceiling and wall meet. I’ll take an extra broom I have, spray the bristles with pesticide and reach up there, sweeping the larvae away. It seems to work…so far.

    They are a devil to get rid of. Just stay vigilant.

    • July 26, 2010 9:29 am

      That sounds every bit as nightmarish as what I’m dealing with! I wonder if there’s a food safe pesticide? My refrigerator is full! I think I’m also going to order some tupperware containers today!
      It’s awful!

  3. July 26, 2010 9:00 am

    I’m glad I don’t have any moth problems in Memphis.

    But I will pray for you with your boys and your lack of yard.

  4. July 26, 2010 9:10 am

    Oh man. I have no words. We returned from vacation to find that a huge population of green flies had taken up residence in our home, but I think cocoons trump that any day.

    Can you store some cedar chips in your pantry? Moths hate the smell of cedar and it wouldn’t hurt your food.

    • July 26, 2010 9:30 am

      Cedar! Brilliant! We have tons of little tiny cedar trees! I’ll get Wayne to hack one up for me today! Yay!

  5. July 26, 2010 9:37 am

    I honestly read this post thinking “This woman needs a promotion. Why else would she be cursed just to get the perfect post?”

  6. Katie permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:24 am

    Oh, you poor thing! Knock on wood, but we haven’t had any invade our pantry yet. Maybe northwest Arkansas is too cold for them. Hope you get everything taken care of…. maybe after all that, you should take another vacation!

  7. July 26, 2010 10:32 am

    I’m really feeling for you right now! I agree – a promotion would be in order for this! I hope that you’re able to get everything taken care of.

  8. July 26, 2010 11:01 am

    I want to say that it was in 1998, give or take a year, but we had a massive moth problem in CO. OMG, I’d wake up in the morning and hundreds of birds were strategically positioned in front of our home, on our driveway, and the front lawn. I would open the garage and literally thousands of moths would fly out only to be greeted by all of those hungry birds. This lasted for about 3-4 weeks. They were in our home and everywhere. My husband was on a TDY to Korea at the time and I never got the feeling that he understood what I was going through with my 2 very young boys. It was so gross, and we swatted as many as we could, and sleeping was a nightmare because the moths would hit into you. I wish I had a magic formula for you. I will say a prayer for you because I know just how yucky this whole thing can be. My mom always told me…This too shall pass. I know it’s not much comfort, but they will migrate, and I’ll pray that they do it SOON!

  9. July 26, 2010 12:00 pm

    Hopped over from WOW….

    Sorry about the moths! Ick!

    I’d like to write more, but now I feel I must go stick my head in my own pantry and assess the situation!

    🙂

  10. July 26, 2010 12:30 pm

    I think I would sit on the floor and just cry. Not only are the moths a terrible situation, but I can totally sympathize with you on the red clay/no grass issue. We came home from vacation last year to find our couch ORANGE. Our neighbor, who had been feeding our dog for us, let her in everynight to climb and rub all over the couch.

    Tupperware. Get some modular mates quick fast and in a hurry!!!

    Big hugs!

    • July 26, 2010 12:44 pm

      I’ve been cruising the tupperware website this morning, so modular mates are the way to go? Good news!

  11. July 26, 2010 4:06 pm

    My gosh, woman. Just reading this stressed me out. Until I got to the “pantry threw up” line, and I laughed out loud and kind of shot water out the nose.

    Sending you all kinds of good, dead-moth vibes!

  12. July 26, 2010 4:20 pm

    Just.Plain.Sick!! When we lived in Texas I had those little beasts in my cupboards…I have no idea how they get into sealed bags…for the life of my I couldn’t find holes. They are truly a curse. Thankfully, up here in the frigid Northwest, we don’t seem to have them.

    I’m so sorry…what a HOT MESS!!

    I feel your pain on the dirt yard…we lived with one of those for the better part of a summer. It was horrid!! Boys+Dirt=My constant heartache!

  13. July 26, 2010 6:35 pm

    Oh LL, you are one Hot Mess!! I hate, hate the moth thing….I have once or twice had to throw out so much pantry stuff and it kills me! Don’t have any suggestions, but I feel for ya!

    I guess the landscaper having no landscaping is like the proverbial cobbler’s kids having no shoes??!

    Hang in there…..or better yet, just stay in bed.

  14. July 26, 2010 10:09 pm

    Oh, that really sucks. I hope you find a swift solution and although I have absolutely no pull with the Nerd Mafia you are a “made man” in my book! If that doesn’t make you feel better, maybe visiting my blog will, where I gave you a little something.

    Hope things get better soon for you!

  15. July 26, 2010 11:13 pm

    I think your moth problem might be worse than my hobo spider problem. Moths freak me out almost as bad as rat-sized spiders.

    I hope tomorrow is better. Hard to fall out of the basement, right?

  16. July 27, 2010 9:02 am

    That is truly disgusting. But here’s an old remedy that, while disgusting in the morning, kills a lot of moths. Fill your sink with sudsy soapy water and leave a light on over the sink all night. The moths are attracted to the light and will get caught in the bubbles and die. We had a moth problem one summer when I was a kid and my mom did this every night. Every morning my sister and I were super grossed out when she cleaned them out, but it definitely worked.

    And about the in and out problem. I’ll pray for you. It drives me insane as well, so at least you’ll be in good company.

  17. July 27, 2010 10:34 am

    Oh man. This sounds like a hot mess infestation. I hope your day gets better.

    If it were me, I would definitely stay in bed.

  18. July 27, 2010 3:58 pm

    That stinks!

  19. July 27, 2010 5:21 pm

    Oh LL, unfortunately I can relate…although it’s with ants instead of moths. You poor thing! And you putting everything in the fridge? Same here, too!!

  20. July 27, 2010 6:24 pm

    Stopping by from Word Up Yo! SO SORRY About your hot mess moth problem. . . I’ve never had them … and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t get’em!!!

    GOOD LUCK!!!

  21. July 28, 2010 2:07 am

    We had an invasion like that at my house in San Diego once, and it was awful! I don’t even have a suggestion for you, because I don’t even kind of remember what we did. I just remember being completely traumatized by the maggots especially.

    My guess is we threw everything out and ate out for 3 months.

    Good luck with that lady!

  22. July 28, 2010 9:07 am

    Oooh ick!! We have ants galore in Bolivia, but fortunately I’ve never had any FLYING insect problem :-/ I hope you can reclaim your kitchen soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

