Skip to content

Amazed but Appreciative

July 27, 2010

 I have some seriously delayed housekeeping that I need to attend to, inside the computer as well as out!   I am amazed every day that people visit my blog and read the nonsense that I have pecked out.  I am overjoyed when people take the time to comment. 

Hopefully, I’m recording enough of our lives that my kids will have a pretty good record of how it all came down.  Highlights and lowlights. 

 And along the way, I’ve gotten a few awards and I’ve been thrilled to death to be recognized.  They’ve left me with my head cocked to the side like the RCA dog, not sure that it was me.  So, today, after waiting way too long to say some thank yous, here they are in no particular order.

The fabulous Liz of A Belle, A Bean and A Chicago Dog fame passed along her very special “Chicago Dog” award.  I was tickled to death when I stopped by her blog and saw my name! She’s such a fun girl. And mom to a pair of cutie patooties! She does it all.  Liz is the Energizer Bunny of the blog world!   She even took the time to review my blog for Blog Brew Review

 a belle, a bean & a chicago dog 

And the most excellent Julie, of The Peanut Gallery….Exit Here, threw one my way as well, Happy 101.   She has a way with photography and with words that makes her a delight to visit.  If you have a chance, please read this post.  You will laugh until you cry. I promise. And then read this one, about the day she met her daughter, you can’t not love her. Once again, I’m amazed to have even been on her radar, much less have an award sent my way. 

For this one, I’m supposed to name 10 things that make me happy.

1.   Being married to the nicest person that I know.

2.   Having adventures with my boys.

 3.  River days with my best friend.

2.  Having a trip on the horizon.

3.  Floating on my back in the ocean.

4.  Reading a good book with my boys or by myself.

5.  Cooking.

6.  Downloading my pictures I just took to the computer and finding one that makes my heart sing!

7.  Being barefoot.

8.  A clean house. (This one is about as rare as a unicorn, but would make me happier if it actually turned up here)

9.  Lee’s Farmers Market.  Bliss.

10.  My herbs.  I can’t walk by without sticking my hand in them.

11.  (Cause I’m a rebel) Really good music.  

Beth from Funky Mama Bird awarded me the Trendy blogger award.  It was the first(only) time I’ve ever been referred to as “trendy,” and I liked it.   I always enjoy her slant on things.  She’s smart and funny and clever.  You’ll enjoy her way with words, her peanut butter taste tests, and her adorable little boy.   If I were giving an award, I’d have given her the “Trendy Blogger” award, she’s certainly the trendiest blogger I know.

One of my favorite bloggers, Amy from The Adventures of JAMC awarded me the Versatile Blogger award.  She blogs about her family adventures.  She has two adorable boys and she writes about their lives and their struggles with Aspergers.  The thing that I most appreciate about her is that though her boys have Aspergers, she allows us to see that they are so much more than their diagnosis.  They are smart and funny and active.  They say the most clever things, and have awesome problem solving skills.  Just ask Amy about painting with them.  And I think that her life shows us that people are onions, many, many layers.  And a diagnosis like theirs is just one layer.  There are many more and she’s a mom that appreciates them all. 

Mrs. Mayhem(great name, don’t you think?) has four beautiful children.  And she gives great advice on things like what to do when forced to spend time with people you despise, and the right way to apply self tanner.  I love that she doesn’t seem to censor herself.  She exposes her kids to wonderful things, and her blog is always fun to read.  She also awarded me the Versatile blogger. 

And today, Lindsay from Barefoot Adventures gave me the Versatile Blogger award too.  I’ve always felt versatile.  At one point in my life, I could breastfeed and peel potatoes.  I’d show you, but my kids are 11, 5 and 7, and they’d be disturbed if I asked for volunteers, so just trust that I’m not lying. I’m versatile.  You should check out Lindsay’s anti-bucket list.  I love the idea, instead of looking forward to things you may do, she’s looked at the moments that she’s had that have already moved her in big ways.  Love it!  It gives value to the portion of life that you’ve already lived.

For the Versatile Blogger award, I’m supposed to list seven things about myself.

1.  I love summer. It’s my favorite season.  Not so much the heat, but the freedom of it.  I love having my boys at home, and being able to do things with them at the drop of a hat.

2.  I like kids with old people names.

3.  Traveling is my most favorite thing.  And I wish every day that I could do more!

4.  I love a good laugh.  And love being around people who make me laugh.

5.  I detest schedules.  I know some people thrive on them.  I am not one of those people.

6.  Nothing makes me happier than time spent near/on/in water.

7.  Sometimes, when my kids are talking to me, I am so taken aback by the beauty of them, that I don’t even know what they’re saying.

Thank you all for thinking about me. I really am honored! Sorry that it’s taken me so long to thank you properly. I’ll hang each of them on my wall(cause Liz taught me how) and think of each of you when I look at them.      

You girls are great!  I enjoy each of you so much, I wish you lived closer, we’d have an awards banquet!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 9:31 am

    YAY for you, LL! I like kids with old people names as well. Thus, Kate and Madelyn.

  2. July 27, 2010 10:06 am

    Very much deserved! Did you ever make it to D.C.?

    • July 27, 2010 10:11 am

      Looks like that was a pipe dream for now! Wayne’s work isn’t going to let us move around much right this second. New flock of turkeys coming in next week. 😦

  3. July 27, 2010 10:13 am

    CONGRATS, girl! Awards sprouting up all over the place. You deserve ’em!

  4. July 27, 2010 10:17 am

    Aw, look at you! It’s not surprising, missy. You’re very hard not to adore.

    I love that you love kids with old people names, too.

    You are the bee’s knees. And I don’t say that to just anyone. Mwah!

  5. July 27, 2010 10:42 am

    As rare as a unicorn… That’s great. Same at my house too.

  6. July 27, 2010 10:45 am

    Awww…thanks for what you said about me. What a compliment! I almost died laughing trying to imagine you asking your kids for breastfeeding volunteers! I look forward to your blog posts, and you always make me laugh.

  7. July 27, 2010 12:27 pm

    I am sooo untrendy – maybe being untrendy is trendy, which means you totally deserved that award. 😉

  8. July 27, 2010 12:28 pm

    Very well deserved awards LL! Your insight always gives me so much perspective into my own life and ALWAYS makes me laugh! Thanks for introducing me to some fabulous bloggers as well!

  9. July 27, 2010 3:50 pm

    Congrats! You deserve all of the wonderful awards!

  10. Katie permalink
    July 27, 2010 4:06 pm

    Oh good job with all the awards!

    I’m like you about the kids: when they’re busy talking to each other at lunch or supper or even just to me, I get so caught up in their facial expressions and how their eyes light up and how they interact with each other, feeding off each other’s words, that I feel like I’m at a play watching the best show on earth.

  11. July 27, 2010 5:23 pm

    WooHoo! Look at you and all of your awards…congrats! You deserve each and every one of them…I love reading your blog 🙂

  12. July 28, 2010 1:41 am

    Ah..L.L…just got back…it’s almost midnight…and I’m checking to see if you had a new post!! See…that’s how much I love ya! I loved reading all those random things about you. I love old people’s names on kids too!! In fact, we have so many of those things you listed in common.

    So we just spent the day at an amusement park with the kids…..hmmm…I’m not as young as I use to be. I’m thinking my neck muscles have atrophied over the years. I seriously felt like “bobble head Julie” on those coasters!

  13. July 28, 2010 11:22 am

    Each award most deserved, congrats!! Always look forward to your posts, and very impressed about the breastfeeding and potato peeling….

  14. July 28, 2010 4:21 pm

    You must have lots of those “heart singing” moments with your pictures. If you don’t, then at least take comfort in the fact that you provide me with plenty of them! I love your pictures.

    So much of what you listed could have been typed by my own fingers 😉 I have a feeling that you and I would be laughing ALL the time. There are a rare few people that can just crack me up constantly, and they are my favorite to be around. Don’t get me wrong, I laugh a lot, but there really are just a certain few that I find absolutely hysterically funny!!!!

Leave a Reply

