Skip to content

You Know You’re a Mom When…ADD Edition

July 28, 2010
tags:

You know you’re a mom (with ADD) when…..

Trying to leave the house can be quite an ordeal.

Making sure everyone has two shoes(bonus points if they match) takes up a good portion of the time allotted for getting ready.

Living in a small, rural area means driving an hour or so to a mall.

But, you and your husband rush out the door your three kids(all with shoes) in tow, hungry with plans for lunch before shopping.

So you drive the hour, stomaches growling. Cries of hunger coming from the backseat.

Then you arrive at the mall, planning on a quick lunch at the Cheesecake Factory, before doing some shopping.

You park your car in the parking garage.

You start the herding of kids towards the lucky eating establishment.

And when you’re halfway there, you notice…..

What all five of you missed when you were leaving.

Your youngest has no pants.

You tied his shoes.

And did not notice that he had no pants.

His dad and his brothers missed this too.

Lunch has to wait, because a quick run for pants must be made.

But, now, you’ve got something to giggle about during lunch. So, it’s all good.

I try to tell myself that I’m raising flexible, “go with the flow” kinda kids. 

But, sometimes, I look at their sweet faces and wonder how they thrive as well as they do, my craziness has got to be exhausting. 

This morning, I’m linking up with the wonderful Arizona Mamma from Our Daze in the Desert.

Have a great day! And keep your pants on. Or better yet, put some pants on!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 8:21 am

    Is this a true story?!?! Oh, LL!!!!

    • July 28, 2010 8:56 am

      I wish it weren’t! He had on boxer briefs and I guess they got him out the door under my radar. If it weren’t for Adam, we wouldn’t have caught it at all.

  2. July 28, 2010 8:22 am

    Hysterical. He has no pants. PA HAHAHA!

  3. July 28, 2010 8:32 am

    That is awesome…my kid never wears pants, but we just pretend it’s an accident 🙂

  4. July 28, 2010 8:59 am

    Haha, that’s hilarious! 🙂
    Love the photo!! The eyes are gorgeous and the freckles are adorable! Great angle and composition, too!

  5. July 28, 2010 9:19 am

    Oh, I love it!! That is the best story I’ve heard all week!

  6. July 28, 2010 9:35 am

    I am dying. This is the best post EVER. Also? So totally something I would miss.

  7. July 28, 2010 9:37 am

    Your kids are going to have great memories – just like I always say. Even the crazy stuff makes for happy childhoods. 🙂

  8. July 28, 2010 10:25 am

    I still think you’re a wonderful mom! Your boys will have a childhood full of very rich memories. They’ll look back fondly at these sort of stories! I’m linking you up.

  9. July 28, 2010 10:26 am

    HA!! Too funny. It’s so good to know that I’m not the only mom that puts their children through craziness day in and day out.

  10. July 28, 2010 10:27 am

    LOL That is awesome!! Did I ever tell you about the time that I forgot to diaper the baby? Yes, I said diaper. Not my most stellar moment, that’s for sure.

  11. July 28, 2010 11:08 am

    Quite the story and one I must say I can relate with….we leave and extra shirt and extra pants in the car for each child for just such occassion:)

  12. July 28, 2010 11:16 am

    Now, THAT is one great story! One time one of my daughters was not wearing undies under her little dress. I didn’t notice until we got to preschool. But, no pants, that is just fabulous.

  13. July 28, 2010 11:25 am

    Once again LL, you make us all feel normal! No pants….at least it was a kid, not hubby! Thanks for the good laugh this morning, and those freckles are adorable….mine both have them, too.

  14. July 28, 2010 11:48 am

    That is AWESOME! This *exact* thing has not happened to me, but wouldn’t be surprised if it did – someday.

    From a mom who spent at least 15 minutes this morning looking for my toddler’s white sandals.

  15. July 28, 2010 1:10 pm

    Ha! I think this is my favorite post you’ve done.

    It’s like the “not wearing any pants to school” dream, revisited. Only it’s real!

    And that picture … wow. Captivating. Bravo!

  16. July 28, 2010 1:20 pm

    hahaha! I love it! I couldn’t stop laughing. This will be a great story to tell his girlfriends later, right? ; )

  17. July 28, 2010 2:25 pm

    Awesome! How funny! LOL

  18. July 28, 2010 2:58 pm

    I don’t know very much about adult ADD but your getting ready and out the door doesn’t sound all that different than mine.
    Great story, stuff legends are made off.

  19. Katie permalink
    July 28, 2010 3:29 pm

    THIS made me giggle! : )

  20. July 28, 2010 3:57 pm

    Seriously! This is hysterical! I’m guessing he was wearing a larger t-shirt that somewhat hid the undies?

    • July 28, 2010 4:05 pm

      Big T-shirt and gray boxer briefs. Somehow, we all just missed it. Morons, we are!

  21. July 28, 2010 4:10 pm

    That was too funny! Thanks for sharing, now I know I am not the only mom out there that does these things!

  22. July 28, 2010 6:45 pm

    So great! My girls have gone out without underwear before, in a dress… it’s not quite so funny.

  23. July 28, 2010 7:22 pm

    Ah..it could happen to anyone!! We went to the store just three days ago..and C-boy had no shirt! Now…that’s a little harder to miss! I knew he didn’t have a shirt on but in all my wisdom I was sure the boy had one with him.. I mean surely a nine year old would know to bring a shirt. Umm…Wrong….

  24. August 2, 2010 6:34 pm

    Love this post! Sounds just like something that would happen at my house with my youngest. At least you were somewhere you could buy pants. 😉
    (I’ve stumbled this post for you.)

Leave a Reply

