Skip to content

Restless

July 31, 2010

I am restless.

This is not a new condition for me.

I struggle with sitting still.

And I’ve been at home for almost two weeks now.  And I haven’t done much of anything.

My husband has been working really long hours trying to get the farm ready for a new batch of turkeys.  He leaves before I get up in the morning and comes in at dark,  tired and without much to offer.

We were invited to hang out with friends the other night, but he didn’t get home in time for us to go.  And I didn’t really have a sitter anyway.  My mother in law babysits some of her other grands during the day and I hate to ask for help in the evenings. 

As much as I adore my boys and enjoy their company, I could use some adult interaction.

The heat has kept me home as well.

There’s nothing wrong with being at home. 

I know people who really like it.  

My latent gypsy genes start to flare up and staying at home is tough on me.  I could easily live out of a suitcase.

And I feel the pages of the calendar being ripped away and the start of school approaching.  I want my kids to enjoy school and learn tons.  But, the scheduling and all the paperwork and assignments feels very much like someone standing on my throat.

And I want to fill our last days of freedom with more than sitting in a chair playing on the computer. 

Not knocking my computer, I sure enjoy it and I love all the people I connect with through it.  I just don’t want it to be my only interaction with the world outside my house.

My kids have watched a bunch of TV.  And we aren’t TV people.  And when they sit and stare at a box, it makes me feel like a failure. 

There are things I could be doing here at home that would be constructive and fun and interesting.  And I haven’t done any of them. 

I probably sound like a total spaz admitting to any of this. 

Tomorrow, the boys and I are headed back to the beach, and the excitement factor is sure to pick up.

And today, weather permitting, we’re taking them to the U.S. National Whitewater Center.  There’s whitewater rafting, rock climbing, zip-lining, something called a “mega jump”, kayaking, hiking, biking and a really cool restaurant where you can watch the rafts come in. 

Surely, that’ll cure my restlessness!

Sorry to be Betty Buzzkill this morning, but I’ve felt kind of down the last day or two and needed somewhere to host my pity party, I guess! 

Hopefully a dose of water and sunshine will get me feeling like myself again!

I certainly hope this isn’t the first time you’ve visited my blog.  I promise, I’m not a Debbie Downer all the time!  Poke around a little, try this one, it’s a little more upbeat!

I’ll have surely shaken this off by tomorrow! 

Don’t be scared to come back!  If it doesn’t rain, I’ll surely have pictures of my children being shoved off of ledges, dangling over rushing whitewater!  Much preferable to sitting on the safety of the couch watching that gosh awful “Suite Life on Deck.”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 8:15 am

    Wow, Betty Buzzkill AND Debbie Downer! You are on an alliteration roll today!

  2. July 31, 2010 8:19 am

    I wouldn’t say you didn’t do anything. There was those moths to deal with and the mud and stuff.
    Summer is a funny time. There’s these wide open days that seem great but then there’s too many of them and everyone gets bored and starts climbing the walls.
    Hope you have a good day for the wildwater chaos. My husband would be all over that!

  3. July 31, 2010 9:34 am

    That place sounds like fun! And I don’t think you’re being a downer…you’re just being honest. Which is good for you. : ) I hope you get to go to that Whitewater place…I’ve done nothing but work this summer, so I’d like to live vicariously through your pictures. ; )

  4. July 31, 2010 11:24 am

    Oh..who says you aren’t allowed to be a Debbie Downer every once in awhile. It means you are a real person!! I hear ya on the school thing. I don’t know if I mentioned it, but C-boy is going to school, too…this year. So my 3 older ones will be in school…and 2 of them all day..for the first time ever. I literally wake up nights in a cold sweat , just thinking about it.

    Glad you are headed to the beach again. One must squeeze every last moment out of summer. You can’t let the turkeys tie you down!! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful time!!

  5. July 31, 2010 2:49 pm

    Oh, you are not a Debbie Downer at all. I like to call it “keeping it real”. I feel just like you in the sense of being restless. No matter how hard I work, my mind keeps thinking that I must be doing more… It’s a constant battle. Enjoy your day tomorrow! Can’t wait to see your fabulous pics!
    Rhonda

  6. July 31, 2010 3:14 pm

    Everyone has days where they feel down – that’s life.

    I don’t blame you if you’re feeling down about the start of school. The school year is so crazy hectic. I feel like I’ve finally relaxed, and it’s almost time to go back!

    Hope you have fun at the whitewater center.

  7. July 31, 2010 3:22 pm

    You are so not a Debbie Downer, if you want that, come over to my place! No, I understand so much of what you’re feeling. We are of the same like when it comes to school. I too find all the musts and all the meetings and all the hours my kids will have to spend on homework and all the hours we will be apart just such a depressing thing. I wish I had the discipline and time for home schooling, but I know I wouldn’t give my girls a deserving education. Besides, they are almost all up to that age where they love that social time school gives them. Summers just fly by too quickly.

  8. July 31, 2010 6:12 pm

    LL, I am always happy to hear someone else mirror my thoughts, so don’t feel like Debbie Downer! Summertime is full of opposites….very fun, exciting days sometimes eclipsed by dull, TV filled ones. And, with the “promise” of school right around the corner, I too get restless and start to worry about all of the things we didn’t do yet!

    Enjoy the beach….

  9. July 31, 2010 10:32 pm

    The Disney Channel is going to be the downfall of this generation. My kids just discovered iCarly, and it makes me want to put a baseball bat through my television. Which wouldn’t be a bad thing. Until I had a hankering for Much Ado About Nothing or Finding Neverland or 500 Days of Summer…. I love my movies. TV, not so much.

  10. August 1, 2010 4:44 am

    I can’t wait to hear about the Whitewater Center! That sounds like the coolest trip for the boys ever!

  11. August 1, 2010 4:28 pm

    Get out there and enjoy yourself girl! I’m looking forward to hearing about it when you get back.

  12. August 1, 2010 5:05 pm

    The heat has kept us home/inside for all of July and I feel like you do. This week I’m hoping to take the children to the beach to get them out of the house.

    Hope you’re back to feeling perky and sparkly and happy soon 🙂

  13. August 2, 2010 2:15 pm

    Ah, venting is a good thing. Hope you’re having a full, packed day today and every day this week.

  14. August 3, 2010 12:37 am

    I recently called myself Negative Natalie in a post. Venting is good for us! We should be thankful we have an appreciative audience to do it with, right!?

Leave a Reply

