Skip to content

Surf Camp with the Little Kids

August 5, 2010

First turn the music on and enjoy the soundtrack I had in my head….(Not the jaws theme!) 

My kids may or may not have watched Surfs Up a few thousand times while I’ve had them hostage in the car this summer!  The music from the movie is pretty good though, so it’s not a bad thing.

Then enjoy sit back and enjoy the smooth moves of Mack and Sam. 

This is their first day surfing and I’m kicking myself for not getting them out there in June. They loved it!  The waves were smaller and were just right for them.

This was Sam’s one and only easy ride past the breakers.  The rest of the day, I felt so sorry for the little guy.  He’d get almost there, and a big wave would knock him back to the shore.  But, he never complained, he’d just start paddling again.

This was Mack’s first wave.  He took to it, like a fish to water.  This child was born to do this.  He’s talked about nothing else but getting back out there since.

He’s found his sport. 

I love that I got them both in the one above.

Sam did great too.  He had this funny little knock kneed stance, but it worked for him.  And he caught tons of waves. 

When the kids took a break, people were asking  how old they were and how long they’d been surfing. 

I was pretty proud to say they’d started at 9:00.   (I should probably show more pride in returning library books on time and remembering to complete homework projects when they’re due and maybe they’d be more responsible than their mom one day.)  

The instructor told me that Sam was really good. He’d never had a five-year old who could get up so easily and ride.   And that he was tough as nails helped too.   The other five-year old cried every time he fell,  and Sam got rolled several times.  He got a little cut on his arm from the fins on his board.  And even hit by someone else’s surfboard and he was fine.  Typical youngest child.  

Cole, their instructor, wasn’t worried about his weird little stance.  So, I guess that’s something they can work on.

I love this picture of Adam out there with his brothers.  I love that he hung on to Mack so that Mack didn’t have to fight the waves again if he got pushed back in.

They had another lesson this morning, and I’m really regretting not putting them both in earlier this summer.  

Sam talks as much as I do.  If you haven’t talked to me, that’s a lot!  The instructor said he talked so much that he’d just go ahead and push him into the wave and he’d see his mouth still moving all the way in.  Still talking.  He’s so my son! 

Wouldn’t you know my memory stick ran out of space just as they were catching this one together. Grrr!

I’m sure I haven’t shown you the last of the surf pictures, we’ve got another week here before school comes and steals all of our fun away!

Mack can’t decide which foot to use, so he just switches it up.

They had a great day and it should have made them too tired to do anything else.  But, alas, that wasn’t the case, either day.  More about our busy days later!  You have to be a machine to keep up with these people.

If you are vacationing on the South Carolina coast and find yourself within driving distance of Garden City, I can’t recommend the folks at Village Surf Shoppe enough.  They’re great with the kids, really patient and they make having fun on the water doable for even little kids.

Now, it’s my 15th anniversary and my husband is on his way to the beach to join us for the weekend! Yay!  So, I’m going to get myself cleaned up and ready for some grown up time! WooHoo!

Does anyone have any tips on taking pictures in these conditions?  It was really bright, they were moving constantly, and their faces always seem dark.  I tried to use the fill light slider in Lightroom to brighten them up, but as you can see, the colors just got kind of weird.  I’d rather get it right SOOC, but I can’t figure out how to do it! Help! I’d love to be able to get some good ones!  Advice needed!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 6:16 pm

    I love all the pics!! It looks like they had a blast!!

    And if that’s the instructor? I’d be looking forward to taking them to surf camp every day 😉

  2. August 5, 2010 6:47 pm

    The knock knees are cracking me up! Such fun. My husband would be all over getting our girls into surf school.
    And, yeah, what Natalie said…

  3. August 5, 2010 7:50 pm

    Pictures outdoors at the beach are always tough midday! I read DrewB’s photo blog and she recommends always shooting backlit when you can and metering off the face. However, its not like you can help where the sun is when the kids are in the water! I think you did great with the pics 🙂

  4. August 5, 2010 7:53 pm

    Love these! I think the Instructor – I mean, the pictures are great. So glad they enjoyed it and did well. Have you tried shooting with a lens hood? Wonder if that would help just a little. Don’t think you’ll be able to completely avoid the bright sun though. Awesome job!

  5. August 5, 2010 8:49 pm

    Do you think that 5 Months is too soon to have that hottie pah tottie teaching my little man???? hehe… one of the perks of surf lessons for sure

  6. August 5, 2010 10:01 pm

    Happy Anniversary!! I love all the special moments with your boys, and your commentary that accompanies them.

  7. August 5, 2010 10:30 pm

    Absolutely adorable…..love Sam’s crazy stance, it works for him! And that picture of all three of them is classic. I love that surfing seems to be just as big back there as it is out here in California! Can you believe I’ve never taken my kids?? Boogie boards, yeah. But you are my surf-mamma hero!

  8. August 5, 2010 10:41 pm

    Well happy Anniversary!!

    Great pictures. I love the look of concentration on Sam’s face. Cracks me up about the instructor just shoving him on while he is still talking!!!

    Hope you have fun with your grown up time!

  9. August 6, 2010 12:01 am

    I hope your anniversary is wonderful! And I’m just going to go with everyone else and say that is one hot instructor! We have a dad at my work who looks a lot like that, and I enjoy saying hello to him every morning! Great pecs…er, I mean, pics!

  10. August 6, 2010 2:32 am

    That are naturals Lula! I looked no where near that good my first trip out!

    And I LOVE the picture of Adam holding on to Mack… so cute!

    Now, about this hottie surf instructor; is he single?!? 😉

  11. Holly permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:13 am

    I’m loving Sam’s “Zen” surfing pose! And Mack is a natural. Are you ready to beat the little girls off of your cool surfer boy. Trouble’s on the way!

  12. August 6, 2010 9:03 am

    I have a feeling this post is about your kids, but I am kinda drooling over the instructor. Thank you, Twitter, for bringing this post to my attention!

  13. August 6, 2010 9:06 am

    I absolutely LOVE the photo of Mack with Sam in the background concentrating so hard. Looks just fabulous and a great vacation spot. Can we request THAT instructor as well?

  14. August 6, 2010 9:20 am

    Happy anniversary! Those are great pics! There is a surf camp on my parent’s beach, and I was wondering how old Gunne would have to be before I enrolled him. Looks like 5 seems a good year to start!

  15. August 6, 2010 11:24 am

    Your life feels like magic. And the music – perfect.

  16. August 6, 2010 12:20 pm

    Hi Honey! I’ve crawled out from under my writer’s self imposed sanction today and I’m visiting with all my best bloggy friends. I’ve missed everyone so much and I have certainly missed your pictures, especially your fabulous snapshots of summer. And these are exceptional! I am impressed with their surfing abilities and you got some great shots.

    And oh my, oh my! That surfing instructor is pretty fabulous himself! If I were you, I’d have to think about taking up surfing. I’m just sayin’.

  17. baby&sofia permalink
    August 6, 2010 3:09 pm

    This post just made me so homesick for California. Your kiddies looked like they were having so much fun! When I am reminded of the beauty of the ocean, it makes being stuck in Iowa just a little less tolerable. Enjoy the beach for us!

  18. August 6, 2010 3:28 pm

    Okay, so I read this last night, and totally forgot to tell you how stinking awesome the music was as background for this post.

    I felt like I was there. Or in a Disney movie. Or on my couch wishing I was there watching a Disney movie.

    What fun for the boys. Surf camp. They’re so lucky. Whatamom.

  19. August 7, 2010 2:08 am

    That looks like a lot of fun and it’s good to start them young. You’re a great mom to sit there and snap these pics in the hot sun. I would’ve run for cover LOL.

    Thanks for stopping by Hip2bMom.

  20. August 7, 2010 11:19 am

    I am pleased not to see any dorsel fins peaking out of the water. I can’t believe your 5 year old is such a natural. That is awesome your kids are so comfortable around water. I can’t get my 5 year old to take a bath. Your little surfers are going to grow up to look like that instructor…watch out.

  21. August 7, 2010 10:06 pm

    I am so glad I wasn’t reading this post around any of my boys because then I’d have to listen to “How come we don’t live somewhere where I can learn how to surf?”
    Your boys are terrific surfers! And the pictures are so enjoyable! I feel like I got a tan just looking at these!

  22. August 8, 2010 1:17 am

    Surfing is something so foreign to me…living in the middle and all. Your kids have it going on! If they are this good now, think how much more awesome they will be in a few years. Maybe surfing is like skating…better when introduced at a young age.

Trackbacks

  1. The Last Day of Summer « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

