Skip to content

Wetting a Hook

August 9, 2010

You get a line and I’ll get a pole, Honey,
You get a line and I’ll get a pole, Babe.
You get a line and I’ll get a pole,
We’ll go fishin’ in the crawdad hole at the Surfside Pier,
Honey, Baby mine.
 

 

Fishing is a good way to spend a day.
 

 

Especially when you get a bite. 

 

Sometimes you have to fight a shark for your fish.  

Adam was reeling one in and a shark jumped up and tried to steal it.  But, fortunately for the fish, it was caught by a peaceful fisherman. 

(Sharks are a running theme here at Lula Lola) 

 

Even taking really poor, freakishly grainy pictures of sharks can be quite exciting. 

 

But, we’re a catch and release kind of crowd. 

 

Nope. No blood lust in this crowd.
 

 

Good thing River City Cafe is right over the dunes otherwise, we could go hungry. 

  

The boys are so against tormenting fish that they didn’t want them to leave the fish out of water long enough to even get a picture. 


 


 

Mack caught a little shark and it had to have the hook removed so I had a chance to snap a picture.  

The whole time the kids were begging their dad to hurry and get it back in the water. 


 

  

Fishing is a good time. 

When we go fishing, everyone leaves happy. 

Even the fish. 

 

Happy Days! 


 


 

  


 


 


 


28 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 10:42 pm

    Beautiful pictures!! Love the water there…so pretty!!

    • August 9, 2010 11:15 pm

      It really is pretty. We don’t take it for granted either. I feel so lucky to get to enjoy it as much as we do.

  2. August 9, 2010 10:44 pm

    Hehe! LOVE THEM! (as always) that second to last though, man oh man, AMAZING!

  3. August 9, 2010 10:59 pm

    Picture #2 – my fave.

    My kids are HUGE fishing fans. Hubs has a fishing addiction, but really only for salmon. It’s almost salmon season, and when it comes to that, we are not the catch and release type. We are the slice it and smoke it type, put in on a cracker topped with cream cheese. Yum!

    The trout and bass, we toss back though. 🙂

    • August 9, 2010 11:13 pm

      I think we could get into some salmon! I could eat my weight in it!

  4. August 9, 2010 11:01 pm

    Okay. I gotta know. What lens do you use?

    Your DOF is always so magnificent. Especially that “catch and release one.”

    • August 9, 2010 11:08 pm

      Thank you so much! 🙂 I’m using a 35mm f1.8 nikon lens. I really love it!

  5. August 9, 2010 11:04 pm

    LL, you make me want to go fishing! My favorite pics are those where all of your boys are together….they just seem to have such a bond. And hey, aren’t you just about DONE with sharks this summer??! I mean, it IS like your family attracts them somehow…

    • August 9, 2010 11:10 pm

      They do have a lot of fun together! They fight like cats and dogs one minute and are best freinds the next!

  6. August 9, 2010 11:06 pm

    You and sharks! Crazy! My boys really enjoy fishing, too. We don’t have the scenery you do, though!

    • August 9, 2010 11:11 pm

      Kind of feels like we’re not going to stop until someone looses a digit or two!

  7. August 10, 2010 1:12 am

    stinkin’ sharks!
    i’m not their #1 fan.
    at. all.
    they’re why i won’t go in the ocean past my knees.
    no siree, bob.
    great snaps while you were there.
    loving those big old eyes on your kids!

  8. August 10, 2010 6:44 am

    Beautiful kids! And, I love your wording with the pics. You should do photo books!

  9. August 10, 2010 7:23 am

    You and your boys! Well, you with your camera while the boys play! I can’t believe there’s ANOTHER shark story here.

  10. August 10, 2010 7:24 am

    Ah! The little shark! I sort of want him!

  11. August 10, 2010 7:52 am

    I get stressed about fish being out if water too. Ken likes to talk to them and study them. We’re a catch and release group too.

  12. August 10, 2010 8:49 am

    That’s my kind of fishing, too 🙂

  13. August 10, 2010 8:54 am

    As usual, a super fun post and gorgeous pictures! I so love the last two photos 🙂

  14. August 10, 2010 10:09 am

    It is so gorgeous there! I hope I can make it out that way someday in my lifetime. This was such a perfect summer post. I have to say I understand your boys. I feel bad for the fish so I always want to throw them back QUICKLY too! 🙂

  15. August 10, 2010 11:39 am

    Your boys are really adorable. You got a good catch with those ones, lady.

  16. August 10, 2010 2:14 pm

    We’re a fishing kinda family too! But…we eat what we catch 😉 Unless it’s too small, then we carefully put them back into the water so he can be caught again another year.

    What the heck is with you and sharks?

  17. August 10, 2010 6:33 pm

    My boys catch and release, too. Must be tons of sharks in the South Carolina water… or your family attracts them!

    • August 11, 2010 5:37 am

      Believe it or not, this is the first year that we’ve ever had any dealings with them. I’m not sure what’s up this summer.

  18. August 10, 2010 9:37 pm

    What gorgeous pictures!! You have a beautiful family.
    We have a little man-made pond thingy about a block away and my boys went fishing over there a couple of weeks ago.
    They caught some sun fish and a blue gill. They didn’t want to eat them but wanted to be able to show their dad (who was out of town) that they caught them – so they brought them home and filled their sister’s (she was out of town also) fish tank with lake water and plopped them in there.
    Ugh.
    Not sure what the babysitter was thinking – but oh well. 🙂 We learned a little bit about what we can and can’t do to keep fish alive…
    Great blog! 🙂
    Cate

  19. August 10, 2010 11:29 pm

    I love that last picture. You guys really do seem to attract more than your fair share of sharks though!

    • August 11, 2010 5:38 am

      I’ve seen more this summer than I’ve seen in my whole life. It’s been really weird!

  20. August 11, 2010 9:20 am

    Your family has much more adventurous outings than mine does.

Leave a Reply

