Skip to content

Tickers

August 11, 2010

So, here’s the deal.  If you’ve been here before, you may know that I’m a gypsy. Can’t help it, wouldn’t want to.  I like to go.   I like having some excitement on the horizon.  I love a trip.

And school is starting soon.  Great teachers. Sharp pencils.  Early alarm clocks.  Book bags. Fresh haircuts.  It’s good stuff.  The kids are going to have a wonderful time! I know this.  Doesn’t stop me from dreading it. 

And as thrilling as it all is, I need to know that there’s some excitement on the horizon. 

And so I’m planning.  My long time best friend and her perfectly matched husband are meeting us at Disney World in October.

“October?” you ask.   “Don’t they have school?”  

And I answer, “Yes.  Yes, they do have school.  But, they have 10 days that they can miss, and they’re not rolling them over til next year if they don’t use them.  And I am against waste.  So, by golly, our family is taking a stand against waste!  We’re going to Disney!”

Not to mention, the temperatures are great.  The crowds are pretty thin by Disney standards.  And we’ll get to go to the Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party while we’re there.  And that’s some good stuff.  Trick or treating in the Magic Kingdom is really magical!  

I love planning a vacation.  It’s the way I take “mini” vacations when I’ve got nothing going on but laundry. (I probably just exaggerated. There’s always something going on, but it’s not always a vacation.  And I thrive on vacations!)

So, the planning is on.  We’re spending 11 days this trip.  The first part we’ll be at Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani Village.  We’ve booked a savannah room and we should be able to see all sorts of animals right from our balcony.  I can’t wait. 

Holly and Doug, my best friend and her husband who have moved away to New Mexico, are spending that part of the vacation with us.  I can’t wait to hang out with them.  And my kids can’t wait to show them all their favorite things and ride every ride with them while talking their ears off.  (Holly, if you happen to read this, please don’t back out.  I won’t let them completely suffocate y’all.  But, they’re going to love sleeping in the room with the two of you! It’ll be like a really fun slumber party.  You could have a pillow fight.  It’s going to be great! For us. Kidding. Maybe.) 

We’re going to let the kids spend some time in one of the kid’s clubs so we can go to the Food and Wine Festival at Epcot one day.  I’m  really  excited about that!  Lots of food from all over the world, beers and wines to sample, and my best friend all in one place! Yay me!

The second part of our trip, we’re moving to Wilderness Lodge.  Just because.  The resorts are so much fun and we wanted to take in more than one this go round, just for kicks.

So, this is how I’m getting “right” with school starting.  I’m setting up my vacation ticker right on my google homepage and getting all set for some planned hooky. 

One month. Three weeks. Five days. 

Let the good times roll, school isn’t going to keep me down!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 9:31 am

    Soooo, we need to talk. I live 90 minutes from the Mouse. My daughter goes to college up that way. And we are there, practically every weekend. I can give you all my tips and more importantly, we can come over and join you maybe for the Food and Wine Festival. It will just depend on when you’re going. I’m pretty booked for October with one girl’s homecoming dance one weekend. My hubs’ class reunion another weekend. And then an extended girls’ weekend for me in Chicago another weekend. But, we’ll see if the stars align at some point.

    And I am so with you on taking the kids out of school. Last year, we booked a trip to the beach for a week. It was only my kids’ second week of school. My plan was to take the kids to school every day, it was about a 90 minute ride to school. I got up before dawn the first day, took them to school and that was it. They stayed at the beach with us for a week and it was glorious.

  2. August 11, 2010 9:36 am

    Planned hooky is the best idea I’ve ever heard! I’m going to do it too. Maybe even to see the Mouse!

  3. August 11, 2010 9:55 am

    Hey – that’s not so far off! And making our own schedule is something I’m loving about homeschool. We’re taking 12 days off in September. 🙂 Course, we’ll be making up for it later, but whatever.

  4. August 11, 2010 10:02 am

    Maybe you can show the kids how to make s’mores in Holly’s room too. Because you don’t need marshmallow on your stuff.

    • Holly permalink
      August 11, 2010 4:01 pm

      I live on a ranch, and I’m NEVER clean! Must I be dirty on vacation too?! Of course, marshmellows and chocolate seem a whole lot tastier than cow patties!!

  5. August 11, 2010 10:02 am

    What an excellent why to use the system. I’ll have to remember that when my son starts school

  6. August 11, 2010 10:15 am

    Want to take me along too? I could use some planned hooky.

  7. August 11, 2010 10:40 am

    I’m so not a Disney fan, but I’m totally a fan of ditching school. I’d rather go fishing like your previous post. That looks worthy of a visit…beautiful pics. (I’ve been on vacation so I’m doing a 2 fer 1 comment to catch up on all of my reading!)

  8. August 11, 2010 12:11 pm

    i think it’s so awesome that you are taking the kids out of school for a trip to disney! oh, LL!

  9. August 11, 2010 12:21 pm

    Oh that sounds fabulous. If your friends decide to bail, we’ll be happy to take their place!
    Rhonda

  10. August 11, 2010 1:27 pm

    Good for you! We did the same thing in May – took them out of school for 10 days to go to Germany. The kids made up the work with no problem.

    You’re going to have so much fun! Hooray for vacation!

  11. August 11, 2010 3:24 pm

    When my son was younger, I thought it was such a big deal that he be in school EVERY DAY! Over time I realized that you just don’t get second chances on some things, and life is too short to worry about missed tests and non-perfect attendance. So, good for you LL! And I always think the planning and looking forward to a trip is a great diversion from everyday boredom!

  12. August 11, 2010 5:19 pm

    WOO HOO! Can I come??

  13. August 12, 2010 1:46 am

    I love you! I love that you are against waste for time off school! That is brilliant!

  14. August 14, 2010 1:15 pm

    I want to go, too! We’re actually planning on going to Disneyland as a surprise for the kids next May. After they’re out of school, but before the CA kids get out. Nothing wrong with a little hooky. Nothing wrong at all!

  15. August 14, 2010 3:25 pm

    Your kids will get more benefit from the family time you spend together than they would in school for those 10 days … way to go!

  16. August 15, 2010 1:47 pm

    How have I not know about the Lula Lola blog before today?! I’ll stop commenting on old posts now. 🙂

    PS- Have fun in Disney!

Trackbacks

  1. Love Quotes For HusbandTwo Year Anniversary Quotes For Husband | Love Quotes For Husband

Leave a Reply

