Skip to content

The Last Day of Summer

August 12, 2010

I got up at 5:30 this morning. 

Shortly, I have to start cleaning and packing.  It’s time to leave the beach. 

Open houses are tonight. 

School is about to begin. 

I love this season and am so sorry to see it go. 

I love sitting on this porch each morning and killing time until the kids get up.  It’s the only time I really have to myself, and I look forward to it.  I know they’re all safe and happy and in the throes of sweet dreams just up the stairs. 

I love playing Yahtzee with Mack every morning when he gets up first to play with me.

I love spending our days playing in the water. 

I love our walks on the beach

I love watching them surf.

I love swimming with them.

I love our random day trips.

I love the talks that Adam and I have when we’re on the road to an adventure. 

I love our games of corn hole under the house.

I love seeing how excited they are on the rare occasion that I say “yes” to the ice cream truck.

I love not having a schedule.

I love reading to Sam late at night while he’s curled up next to me.

I love not having anything to turn in or return.

I love being with them.

I love our freedom.

I love that my ADD doesn’t do any harm, but is sort of a good thing, during the summer.

I love that we thrive on salt air and road trips and fried oysters and going where and when the spirit moves us and no assignments or clocks or calendars.

I got up a 5:30 today so I could soak up the last little bit of the season.  

Hopefully enough to get me through until next summer, though it doesn’t quite feel like I’ve had my fill just yet.

Signing off with the “School’s starting” blues,

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 7:00 am

    I’m sorry you’ve got school starting blues. I find it so strange that goes starts so early in August. Clarabel doesn’t start until Sept. 7th. I’ll be good and ready by then.
    I guess summer is what makes summer special. Have a good day. We will be here for you tomorrow.

  2. August 12, 2010 8:01 am

    This was so lovely, what nice memories for you and your family! My suggestion…take lots of pictures and put them in frames around your house, as wallpaper on your computer, ect to serve as wonderful reminders.

    Good luck packing and have a safe trip home.

  3. August 12, 2010 9:12 am

    I think this is the first time your blog has ever depressed me. 🙂

  4. August 12, 2010 10:21 am

    I’ll be counting down until next summer with you!! 🙂

  5. August 12, 2010 10:47 am

    This summer just seemed to go by too quickly!

  6. August 12, 2010 2:23 pm

    LL, I’m even sorry that you and Mack don’t have special Yahtzee time anymore!

  7. August 12, 2010 4:27 pm

    What a lovely post about the change of seasons. And I love playing Yahtzee with my 6 year old too!!! I played it all the time as a kid and I love that he enjoys it also. I just found your blog while cruizing some of my other favorite mommyblogs. I love it! And you. Can’t wait to read more. I’ll be back again soon!

  8. August 13, 2010 2:38 am

    Boooo to the end of summer for sure.

    Although, seriously? It sounds like you had a pretty fantastic one!

  9. August 13, 2010 9:15 am

    Think of all the special moments with your boys that you will cherish forever! This made me really reflect on how I view the end of summer approaching as well. Thanks for the inspiration for my post today.

  10. August 13, 2010 9:23 am

    We start Monday. It comes too soon!

  11. August 13, 2010 1:30 pm

    As much as I love the summer, there’s something so beautiful about fall. And as a kid who loved school, there was no day better than the first! Even into college, the first week is a magical time, where you can see your friends and buy new stuff while not actually having any work. Sigh, I miss school.

  12. August 13, 2010 1:36 pm

    Summertime is freedom, you’ve got that right. So sorry that school is starting so early for your kiddos. (I hope they got out early, too.)

    I can totally relate to the “schools starting” blues. Mine start on Sept 7th, but I’m already feeling sad to send my youngest off to kindergarten.

  13. August 13, 2010 3:31 pm

    I love the freedom, too….but throw in the beach scene, and I wouldn’t want it to end even more. You have lived this summer to the fullest, LL, and I can see how hard it would be to move on to Fall. Darn Fall….

  14. August 14, 2010 9:11 am

    Summer is one of my favorite seasons too. I have to say my summer has been so much better having been able to live vicariously through you. I have felt like I have gotten to go on some pretty amazing adventures that I wouldn’t have been able to otherwise. You are a fantastic mother and your kids are lucky to have you. I hope you enjoy the last moments of summer to their fullest!!!

  15. August 14, 2010 12:38 pm

    I know that feeling all too well. End-of-summer blues. But it helps that autumn leaves are so beautiful, back to school is exciting, and Halloween is so much fun. Try to remember what’s to come…good luck!

  16. August 15, 2010 1:35 pm

    You are so lucky you got the time at the beach — and from your post, it sounds like you savored every moment of it! Enjoy every last second of it.

  17. August 16, 2010 8:54 am

    Oh, this makes me very sad. I will tightly hold on to these toddler days of no school.

    P.S. – You and my husband’s step mom would get along fabulously! Last week she spontaneously packed up the three teenaged girlies and drove down to the Keys (about a 7 hour drive), befriended some people at lunch and then spent the rest of the day on their boat, left the keys to the car on said strangers boat, waited until well after dark for boat partiers to return text messages, and finally got home around the time they would typically be waking up. She also gets the back to school blues big time.

  18. August 16, 2010 10:19 am

    Reading all of this makes me wish summer would just linger and linger!

Leave a Reply

