Skip to content

An Anniversary Goat

August 15, 2010

.

For fifteen years now, I’ve been married to my honey.  How he’s survived it, is a story unto itself!  Hats off to the man!

We’re going to try to get away, just the two of us, for a weekend soon.  But, we wanted to give the kids a chance to get settled back into a routine before we disrupted it again. 😉

These were our wedding invitations.  (I sincerely hope this will be the worst photography you ever see here!  My scanner wouldn’t hold the entire frame, so I tried to photograph each frame separately. You get the idea, even if the quality stinks! )  Are you surprised that my actual name isn’t Lula Lola?

I wanted to show you these, because, I wanted proof.  No malarkey, he’s actually been able to tolerate living with this hot mess for fifteen years! Though, it’s come with a plethora of foibles!

Since I haven’t really talked about it on my blog, I thought I’d share a little anniversary tale about us.  I think it’s a pretty good representation of our marriage.

We aren’t always the best at gift giving.  Occasionally, we knock it out of the park, but more often than not, we don’t do very much.  I’m not a “gifty” girl.  Hang out with me, take me to do something exciting, and that’ll make me feel loved.  Opening a gift, unless it’s really thoughtful, doesn’t do much for me.  My husband is the same way, he doesn’t care a thing about getting gifts.

But, this particular year, I knew something that he really wanted.  I think it was our “wood” or “flower” anniversary, who knows?.  But, I decided to throw tradition to the wind.  And, since there wasn’t a “livestock” anniversary, I decided to go out on my own.

I bought him a goat.

An anniversary goat.

Cause, nothing keeps the romance alive like a goat.

Goats were on his brain.  He talked about goats.  A lot.  Not the most exciting conversations we’d ever had, but there you are.  Five or six years into marriage, sometimes you have to talk about things that don’t hold your interest just because you love them.

I had knocked it out of the park. He was thrilled with his goat.  Over the moon really.

He had dreams of goat farming.

I wish I were kidding.

While he was building his goat a pen, the goat was enjoying a little free range vacation on the farm.  And I guess with every vacation, a little site seeing must take place.  And so the anniversary goat decided to wander.  Our farm is close to a little country church.  A mile from it, actually.  And our anniversary goat must have felt like having a little “Come to Jesus” meeting.

He wandered up to the church.  Saw his reflection in the window on the door.  Thought he was being threatened by another goat.  Became a little rambunctious, and butted out the window of the church.

Trust me when I tell you, the call that tells you that your goat has torn up the church, is not one you want.

On the other hand, if you’re the wife of the person who gets the call, it’s a good time.

So, our livestock anniversary was perhaps a “fumble” in the game of marriage, but the memory does make me laugh.

Have you ever gotten a gift you really wanted?  Did it vandalized a church?

Yeah, it was a first for us too.

From then on, we never bought each other gifts with a pulse again.

And we lived happily ever after.

The end.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 7:35 am

    First, I LOVE your wedding invitations. Second, I love the Anniversary Goat. We usually do something lame on our anniversaries.

    Although, one year, we went to mystery Who Dunnit Dinner where we had to find out who killed the Mob Father. I totally guessed, and was crowned the new Mob Father at the end of the night. Good times.

  2. August 15, 2010 8:29 am

    i just tweeted this. this is the funniest damn thing i’ve heard in a long time! only you would buy a goat for wayne and only you would end up having said goat destroy a church!

    and i think your invites were refreshingly fun and filled with personality.

  3. August 15, 2010 8:49 am

    Loved the invites and the story made me laugh out loud. The goat’s come to Jesus meeting is priceless. You never cease to amaze me with your stories.

  4. August 15, 2010 9:21 am

    I loved this post! My husband has always talked about wanting a goat. Ha! He wants it to eat our grass so he doesn’t have to mow. Lazy man!

  5. August 15, 2010 10:09 am

    OK, this is seriously the funniest thing I’ve heard in a very long time….yeah, very long! What a great story, and I absolutely LOVE your invitations! We aren’t much into gifts either, but I have to say I’ve never considered a goat…

    Happy Anniversary! Our is this month, too….August is a good month.

  6. August 15, 2010 10:20 am

    That is good times! You’ve cracked me up 2 days in a row.
    No church wrecking presents for us. Yet. I can dream.
    Do you go by Carol or Carol Anne? When I talk to you in my head I want to be sure to use your right name. You know, so you know I am talking to you and you answer.

  7. August 15, 2010 11:11 am

    You know, aside from making me chuckle and giving me an excellent mental image, this post makes me wonder AGAIN what the hell kind of life you have? If you aren’t swimming with sharks you’re sitting in a restaurant with Elephant Man, (laughing at him, no less), or you’re herding Satan goat.

    I’m just in awe of you. You have better stories than anyone I know in real life.

  8. August 15, 2010 11:45 am

    I am cracking up!! Happy Anniversary to you both 🙂 I bet you’ll survive another 15 years no problem 🙂

  9. August 15, 2010 12:01 pm

    HILARIOUS!! I haven’t visited in awhile, and I”ve missed you so much!!

    Love your wedding invitations by the way – they’re really creative 🙂

  10. August 15, 2010 1:44 pm

    Ha! As a child, my neighbors has goats instead of kids. They are fun to have around. Kinda shows what an awesome wife you are to buy him a goat!

  11. August 15, 2010 2:35 pm

    Oh my gosh HILARIOUS goat story! Um, super weirdness…my hubby wants a goat too! LMAO What is up with hubbys and goats? He wants a fainting goat so that he can scare it and make it faint. Yea, he has issues.

    Happy Anniversary! ^_^ The wedding invites were SOO cute!

  12. August 15, 2010 7:33 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Loving the goat story right now. And good food for thought too! Good luck to you (and the kiddos) on their first day back at school! It’s tomorrow, right?

  13. August 15, 2010 10:30 pm

    This post had me in stitches! This is my first time stopping by, but I’ll definitely be back.

    Playing WOW…. I found malarkey, plethora, foibles, rambunctious, and fumble.

  14. August 16, 2010 12:28 am

    Those invitations are priceless. And I don’t know how you can ever top a goat as an anniversary gift. And one that attends church, no less.

  15. August 16, 2010 1:21 am

    Oh, my goodness. I can’t laugh too loud or my husband will wake up. But that is a funny story! Also, your wedding invitations rock.

    In the spirit of WOW, I have to say I found malarkey, hot mess, plethora, foible, fumble, and rambunctious.

  16. August 16, 2010 2:22 am

    OK, those wedding invitations are quite possibly the coolest wedding invitations I have ever seen! I seriously love them!

    And you got him a goat?!? That is hilarious in and of itself!

  17. August 16, 2010 8:16 am

    I actually think my husband would enjoy a goat. But he’s enjoy a cow even more. I had to pry him away from the petting zoo on Saturday night because the kids couldn’t see the livestock. True story.

  18. August 16, 2010 8:26 am

    Cute invites! (and love the revelation of that mysterious name, though I really love Lula Lola!)

    And seriously, our adventures are so pale by comparison — can we come hang for a few days? Something tells me we wouldn’t be bored for a second…

  19. August 16, 2010 8:31 am

    Your invitations are so adorable and your story is just too funny!

  20. August 16, 2010 11:10 am

    That is a beautiful gift with a spectacular story. what could be better?

    I’m not big on the gifts either, nor is my husband.
    But there was this one thing . . .

    My father died very unexpectedly and it was a shock to our entire family. He was only 66, a runner, a vegetarian, the picture of health. So, when he collapsed and died of the same kind of heart issue as Tim Russert, it was just awful. We were all very close and his death was so tough on both my husband and me. My husband and my dad were best friends.

    On Mother’s Day just a few weeks after we lost him, my husband handed me a gift. I opened it and it was this stunning incredible diamond necklace that I know cost him a very dear penny. It was one of the most beautiful things I’d ever seen. And as he put it on me, he told me he could never make up for what I had lost and he knew that a necklace could never mend the hole in my heart, but he just wanted to find something that would make me smile again.

    I think I’ll keep that guy.

    Oh and I haven’t forgotten you! I will be replying with more suggestions for WDW very shortly. We had birthday fun this weekend for my about to be 16 year old and I’ve just been caught up with all the insanity of school beginning to start. I’ll be back!

  21. August 16, 2010 1:19 pm

    my hubby wants an anniversary goat of his own….he’d even settle for an un-anniversary goat as long as it meant he gets a goat. he’s so enamored with them! =)

  22. August 16, 2010 3:04 pm

    So…does this mean I should by my husband the Scottish Highland cow that he wants?? I don’t think I can out do you on this one…L.L.!! You really do crack me up. At least it was a religious goat..err..maybe un-religious??

    I Missed your crazy stories while I was away experiencing my own crazy life. 😉

  23. August 16, 2010 5:50 pm

    This is my favorite. story. ever!

    I can only hope that once Fiance and I get married, he buys me something as awesome as a goat, and it does something as dumb as butt out a window somewhere. It doesn’t even have to be a church. Although your goat does get bonus points for that, for the uncomfortable factor.

    Also, I like that you’re a hot mess.

    Hot messes are … well … hot.

  24. August 16, 2010 9:10 pm

    Aaah! That is hilarious. But what a fabulous gift for your hubs. Mine would LOVE a goat. He LOVES GOATS. Odd, I know. But my hubby loves any type of farm animal, and he, too, has dreams of goat farming and having chickens and cows. I’ve yet to gift him such an awesome gift.

  25. August 16, 2010 10:06 pm

    Wow! Or is that, WoW?…

    fumble, malarkey, hot mess, pleathora, foible. I wish the word goat was a WoW – because this was hilarious.

  26. August 17, 2010 9:36 am

    Haha.. that’s priceless.. a great story to tell at your 50th!!

    From the Word Up Yo! Scavenger Hunt – malarkey, plethora, hot mess, rambunctious, fumble and foible.

  27. August 18, 2010 10:43 am

    Goats vandalazing a church, being felt up in church, you two are absolutely scandalous! I think this is hysterical.

    Those were my wedding invitations too with my first husband. It turned out I liked the invitations better than him 🙂

Leave a Reply

