Skip to content

An Epic Bad Hair Day

August 17, 2010

This story goes far and beyond your average bad hair day.  Much worse than a cowlick or even the most severe bedhead.

When I was somewhere around 13 or 14, I had a destructive affair with Sun In. You remember the stuff in the spray bottle that was supposed to leave even the deepest brunette with sunny, summery, healthy looking blond locks.

Well, I was left orange and deep-fried. 

I did it to myself.  I don’t really know that I knew any better.  

I’d spray my hair with Sun In, blow dry and repeat.  Before long, my brown hair had turned to a nuclear orange and was as brittle as onion skin.

School was out for summer, and I had too much time on my hands and not enough supervision.   

This had to be fixed before school started.

We were at the beach, and I didn’t have anyone who normally did my hair nearby to fix it.  So, my dad took me to the mall.  I went into the first salon I saw and told them I wanted my hair back my natural color.

She cut inches off of my hair because it was badly damaged.  And then, she colored my hair.  I hoped it would be back to normal and we could put the whole unnatural  Sunny-D hair color behind us.

She rinsed my hair and spun me around so that I didn’t face the mirror.  She even styled it for me.  Kind of a braid/twist thing. Very 80s.

When she turned me around, I was back to brown.  Whew!

As my dad and I were leaving the mall, he asked, “What’s wrong with it?”

I was kind of offended.  “What do you mean, what’s wrong with it?”

“Looks like a damn racoon or a skunk or something.”   Sensitive to a fault, my dad.

I raced to the car.  I flipped down the mirror on the visor, pulled my hair down and gasped.

I fumble even now for a better description. 

I can’t find one.

I did look like a damned raccoon.  My dad was right.

The top of my hair was sort of my natural color, the bottom couple of inches had turned jet black.  The ends were so damaged that they “grabbed” a little more color than they should have.  They were so damaged, I think the word “mush hair” is probably fitting.

We drove straight to Irene’s house.  Her daughter and granddaughters were out front.  And her adult daughter got so tickled that she had to squat down and cross her legs trying not to wet her pants.  It was that funny.

I am thankful for my sense of humor. 

Cause, this could have been my undoing.

Irene ran for the camera. Cause, seriously, what else could she do?  Raccoon hair and  a mint green ribbed mock turtle neck tank needed to be documented.  

(Ladies, take care of your health, this is what happens when motherless children are left to their own devices, they wear mint green ribbed mock turtle neck tanks and get careless with Sun-In.  You don’t want this to happen to your kids, now do you?  Go get a pap smear, pronto!)

So, Irene, always the hero in these situations, and another cousin, Nancy, called the salon,  and let them know that a foible such as this was unacceptable.  And that they’d be correcting this hot mess first thing in the morning.

I spent an entire day in the salon.  Sort of scared, to tell the truth!

But, in the end I had somewhat normal hair.  And no one bothered to grab the camera for that!

If you have a bad hair day that can top mine, I’d love to hear it!

P.S.  School started for my big boys, and I’ve made it with just a little weeping! Sam had orientation yesterday, again, made it with just a little weeping.  He has his first full day on Thursday, expect much weeping.  I’ll post about it, when I figure out what I have to say about it! 🙂

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 8:42 am

    Oh..that’s funny! I think we all have had one of the bad hair foibles in our day! I love how Irene rescued you, yet took a picture for prosterity first!

  2. August 17, 2010 8:43 am

    Or posterity! That will work too! duh.

  3. August 17, 2010 8:56 am

    Hmmm…when I was younger I had one of those bowl haircuts. You know, it really looked like someone put a bowl over my head and cut around it, literally.

    How exciting that your boys are starting school, we started yesterday. I remember when my children had their first full day of school. I hope y’all have a wonderful and educational school year!

  4. August 17, 2010 9:00 am

    Ah, yes! I remember the Sun-In days! You are brave to have posted the photo — my imagination didn’t quite have that in mind. 🙂

  5. August 17, 2010 9:08 am

    Ah yes, I too had junior high orange, brittle hair.

    There should be a warning on that bottle.

  6. August 17, 2010 9:36 am

    At least you could (and still can) laugh about it!

    I had some horrible hair days in junior high. Truly mortifying. But the evidence has been destroyed.

  7. August 17, 2010 9:43 am

    Oh my.. oh my..

    No. I can’t really top that. Though when I was about 11 I decided I needed to chop off all of my VERY thick VERY wavy hair that my mother did not know how to style and had no intetion of learning how to style. So for the entirety of Jr. High I had a white girl ‘fro.

    Word Up Yo! Scavenger Hunt – hot mess, fumble and foible.

  8. August 17, 2010 10:03 am

    OH Heavens that is bad news! I had a love affair with sun in too. But I never used the blow dryer which I am realize now was a good thing.
    In high school my friend and I decided to dye our already quite dyed hair blond. Green. Both of us. This was our saturday night activity. The next day we were both serving and reading in chapel. So we had long white gowns on and had to stand up in front of the whole school. Everyone noticed, all the boys commented, which I suspect was the reason we wore our hair down instead of in a ponytail.
    Good times.

  9. August 17, 2010 10:41 am

    I can’t actually top that, mostly because I’ve never done anything to my hair, other than cut it. I’m a chicken and I’m afraid I’ll end up with a problem. I do love the way you wrote this. I’ve never even met your dad and I could hear his voice in my head…”Looks like a damned raccoon or something!”

    And, for WOW, foible, fumble, and hot mess. Accurate words to describe what that stylist did to your hair!

  10. August 17, 2010 10:59 am

    I had a bad run-in with Sun-in as well, although mine was in college, and I really should have known better. I may need to make a trip to the salon soon, to get rid of these white hairs that keep cropping up. I think they’re my hair’s way of getting back at me for the Sun-in.

  11. August 17, 2010 11:39 am

    LL…that pic is too funny! I’m laughing with you, not at you of course 😉

    Yep, I have had a horrible hair day. I went from very blonde to dark brown (think Liv Tyler) thinking it would look fantastic. But going from blonde to dark brown isn’t easy…especially when your very blonde isn’t exactly your natural color! It turned my hair a grayish/purple color. Not cool! Had to go back the next morning and have it fixed. My hairdresser, who had done my hair for years was even laughing at the color. Luckily, she fixed it.

    We used so much Sun In when we were in junior high/high school we could’ve owned the company!

  12. August 17, 2010 12:05 pm

    Too funny. I think I’m glad that I was much too chicken to try sun in in my hair ever as I would have undoubtedly wound up with the neon orange hair as well.

    Playing WOW….I found fumble, foible and hot mess

  13. August 17, 2010 1:16 pm

    I, too had a Sun In obsession. My mom told me I wasn’t allowed but I went ahead and got it anyway….and when my hair started changing color I told her it was from the sun.

    Think she bought it? hehe

  14. August 17, 2010 1:20 pm

    LOL I got hold of a bottle of that Sun-in crap one year too! I even had a mother to tell me better, which she tried to, but I was determined. And I ended up with very blonde, very damaged hair. Good times.

    WOW I found foible, fumble and hot mess. Great word usage as usual!

  15. August 17, 2010 1:21 pm

    PA HA HA! Oh my…. I remember Sun In. All my less blonde girlfriends went through it by the gallons but I was lucky enough to be a natural blonde (I guess that’s considered lucky – might depend on the situation).

  16. August 17, 2010 1:43 pm

    is that really you? oh dear lord! that’s BAD LL!

  17. August 17, 2010 3:05 pm

    I am so so so grateful I don’t have a hair story to top yours!

  18. August 17, 2010 3:05 pm

    Oh man that’s bad. I use Sun In to this day on occasion, usually to prolong highlights. I had no idea it could do that to hair!

  19. August 17, 2010 8:51 pm

    OMG, sun in! I so remember those days! And I am so happy for the pic, it is hilarious now (I doubt it was then…for you at least).

    As for WOW: foible, fumble and hot mess (hot mess, indeed).

  20. August 17, 2010 9:54 pm

    Oh my, that shouldn’t even be a real picture! You poor thing! Do you have the “after after” picture??

  21. August 18, 2010 9:04 am

    Hahaha! I LOVE your stories. I have to say I am a bit guilty in how glad I am someone got a picture of your hair. It really added to the story. I am so glad they made the salon fix it. Figures no one took a picture of that. Oh well. 🙂

    I remember that stuff, but I never used it. When I was around junior high age my mom would color my hair for fun and for a long time I had a lot of really blonde highlights. Somewhere around my sophomore year of high school, I got tired of them and decided I wanted to go darker, past my natural brown to more of a brunette. (Apparently this is always a bad idea)

    I ended up with a lovely shade of purple. My father was so mad. 🙂 It makes me laugh even now. My best friend came up with a purple hair song that she sang relentlessly to me and the skater crowd at high school thought I was awesome. We fixed it a few days later, but I will never forget it.

  22. August 18, 2010 10:50 am

    Sun-in, old style self tanner, and a crimping iron are things no teen should ever be left alone with. Though I did have an unfortunate female mullet that was really difficult to grow out which I got on a whim at a booth at the county fair (stupid stupid stupid), I think yours is worse. I think you rocked the mint green turtleneck though. Thanks for tha papsmear PSA.

  23. August 18, 2010 11:06 am

    oh my …

    i think my worst haircut was when I agreed to get a razor cut when I didn’t really know what that entailed. my hair was short … super short … so short that my boyfriend (now husband) told me I looked like a boy. The only way to fix it was to wait for it to grow out … and punch him in the arm for calling me a boy 🙂

  24. January 23, 2011 7:36 pm

    AWWWW!!!! u poor girl! lols!
    i would FREAK if that happened to me 😦

Leave a Reply

