Skip to content

The Soccer Sideline Debacle

September 19, 2010
tags:

Here’s a list of the events that led up to the “Soccer Sideline Debacle.”

8:15am, Adam had to be at the football field 30 minutes away.  They lost in over time.

We were due for a feeding.  I had the bright idea of eating a big, nasty Huddle House breakfast.

Spent the rest of the day feeling like I’d eaten a load of bricks.

Mack had soccer pictures and a double-header to play starting at 11:15.

Sam had soccer pictures and a game beginning at 12:45.

And it was hot.

It was the soccer jamboree.  {I’ve been wondering about this, do people everywhere have jamborees or is it just a southern/SC thing?}

We got our uniforms just before pictures, so we were dressing kids in the car.  The hot car.  Wiggly kids in shin guards, ginormous socks, cleats and all.  And if you’ve done that before, you know how much fun that is, even when you’re in a nice roomy, climate controlled area.

It was a long, hot day that started a little too early and involved a lot of rushing and heavy food.

A perfect storm was brewing.

Mack was finishing up his last game as Sam was starting his. Adam had just climbed out of what could best be described as a litter filled, waste water run-off ravine, where he’d found old tires and a bowling ball.

So, Wayne and Mack made it over to Sam’s game.  Swamp thing, Adam came to watch too.

After playing really hard during the first half, they asked if anyone wanted to take a break, being my son, he volunteered.  He sat down on the bleachers behind me, beside Mack. (Having the kids sitting with us isn’t the norm, but we only have two coaches and they were both on the field during this game)

Mack was eating a sno-cone and Sam wanted a bite.  Somehow,  Mack spilled some on Sam.  And Sam flipped out.

Flipped out, let me tell ya!

All I heard was a collective gasp from behind, from all the parents and grandparents who were appalled(at my child) and relieved(that it wasn’t their child).

He took the half melted sno-cone away from Mack and threw it all over him.

All over his head.

All over his new uniform.

All over the bleachers.

And there was splatter.  The grandmother that was sitting just above them and to the left was in the line of fire. And she looked none to happy, I can assure you.

I’m sure others were affected as well.  But, I apologized, grabbed Sam and got the heck out of dodge. I didn’t stay an assess the damage.

I left Wayne with that bag of poop, after all, he signed on for the partner in crime job.

I have never been so outdone with one of my children.  Not ever.

Even though, as a rule, Sam has no conscience, this was very much out of character.

He’s often at odds with his brothers, but this just wasn’t the norm{For anyone, anywhere},  though, there was that incident that ended in the exchange of blows over a bag of popcorn at a baseball game once.

He knows better.

I’ll tell you how I handled it in my next post.   But, first, I want to know.  What would you have done?

After almost 12 years of parenting, I’m still running into new and difficult situations.  And I’m not sure the way I handled it was the best way.

So, tell me, what was the right thing to do?  I need parenting advice!  I’m at a loss.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 6:00 pm

    Whoa, I don’t know, LL! It would feel so surreal to see my kids to do, I’m sure it would just be a knee-jerk reaction.

  2. September 19, 2010 8:25 pm

    Don’t you just love it? And in public, no less. Well, I am usually so dumbfounded when something catches me off guard that I never do what I think I should have! I AM big on appologies and maybe some sort of cause/effect thing (like maybe help with clean up). But more often than not, I would cut bait and leave!

    You just know a storm was brewing, didn’t you….ugh!

  3. September 19, 2010 10:14 pm

    Wow….after all that had happened in a matter of hours…I guess he just snapped…snapped I tell ya! 😉 My response would have probably been to look at the people around me and tell them he was really tired! ha ha….when does that excuse not work anymore?? I still use it with my nine year old! Maybe I should get a new excuse. As far as what to do with Sam…I’m sure you handled it with grace! wink wink Your guess is as good as mine!

  4. September 19, 2010 10:41 pm

    Oh man Lula Lola! I don’t even know! That is intense!

    I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have been going back to play the rest of the game though!

  5. September 20, 2010 1:53 pm

    Bummer. I don’t know what the “right” thing would be, but I can tell you what I would have done. I would have probably yelled. (Not probably in the “right” thing category.) But I also would have made him help clean up his brother and his brother’s uniform and apologize. I probably would have grounded him from something (friends, DS, whatever is most important) for a couple of days. That’s just me.

    Once again, I say, Bummer. I hate it when kids do stuff like that! It’s totally infuriating. Especially when they know better.

    Now I’m curious to find out what you did do.

  6. September 20, 2010 4:58 pm

    I probably would have yelled, too, but I would want to be the kind of mom who laughed rather than yelled. 🙂 I bet it looked pretty funny. You could always just pretend they aren’t your kids. Boys do crap like that, and there are uptight people who don’t know that or choose to blame the parenting. It’s just boys being boys. Your kids rock. If that old lady’s shoes were ugly, I’d have high-fived them both.

    OK, maybe not.

  7. September 20, 2010 9:09 pm

    Well, for your sake, I would send an email out to the parents apologizing for the unfortunate incident. Going out of your way would prove you are not used to that type of behavior from your boys.
    As for him, I would have make an apology during a practice maybe. Do the parents stay to watch practice? It can be short and sweet and you can hold his hand, but I think all would be forgiven if they see a little remorse.

    This is a tough one.

  8. September 20, 2010 10:52 pm

    LL, I think laughter is sometimes the best medicine and in this case I think that’s just what the doctor ordered. The chain reaction is kind of funny, you have to admit, and those that are saying thanks that this is not their child that did such a ‘horrid’ thing, you know what…it may not be their child at that moment, but I don’t believe that it’s never been their child ever. It may be necessary to offer to buy someone a new piece of attire that got damaged or something of that nature, but otherwise, come on, it’s funny.

    You are a GREAT mom!

  9. September 21, 2010 12:54 am

    One time Mason got mad at a McDonald’s and threw a soda everywhere. I think I even blogged about it. I did…nothing…really. Just cleaned up, removed him from the situation, and sat down with him to eat. The reason I did nothing is because I was afraid I would clobber him if I let myself react. I was so embarrassed, and people were looking at me like they couldn’t believe I would not do anything. I don’t know what the right thing to do is!

  10. September 21, 2010 7:42 am

    Sorry about this situation! (We were out of town, so I missed this post when it was first published.)

    Asking what we would have done removes the heat of the moment (which is a HUGE factor).

    I like to think that I would have made a speech about right/wrong, made him clean it up, and apologize to everyone it splattered on. If the uniform couldn’t be cleaned, I would make the the child work off the cost of a new one.

    BUT, in the heat of the moment, I probably would have flipped out and then fled the scene of the crime.

    Sorry this happened, but all parents have been in similar situations where our kids caused us immense amounts of embarrassment.

Trackbacks

  1. The Long Arm of the Law or Welcome to Crazytown — Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

