Skip to content

Give a Kid a Camera

November 8, 2010

While we were on vacation at Disney, we celebrated Adam’s 12th birthday.

We had a smoking good dinner at the California Grill with my best friend, Holly and her husband, Doug.  They came all the way from New Mexico and we were all so glad to see them.  Though, I had to fight Sam to have a conversation with her.

We were celebrating Sam’s birthday as well.  Even though it’s in April.  We usually celebrate 5th birthdays at Disney, but weren’t able to go in April, so this was still his birthday celebration trip.  Poor kid didn’t even make it through desert any night we were there.  Disney has that effect on you.  On the bright side, I got to chat a little with Holly.

A while back, I shared some of Adam’s photos.  And since this trip was one big photo-op, of course, he enjoyed doing a little photography while we were there.  I wanted to post a couple of his pictures.  I think he’s really got a knack for it.

He took like 9 million, but this first one is my favorite.  We attended Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.  This photo was one that Adam took during the parade.

I love it.

The picture and the Halloween parade.   If memory serves me correctly, this pair escaped from the Haunted Mansion.

The night of the Halloween party, we trick or treated and stayed out with the rest of the spooks until the wee hours.  Adam snapped some pictures of the decorations.

He snapped some cool detail shots around the resort as well.  This is one that is pretty abstract and I liked it a bunch. I love that he slowed down to notice this stone wall and the light behind it.

This is one that he took of Woody and Jessie at the Block Party Bash at Hollywood Studios.  I love that I can hand the camera off to him and get some fun shots.

I’m so tickled that he and I have a shared interest.    He’s doing so well, this can only mean that there will some day be really good pictures of my grandchildren!  I’ll have to post some of his cool macro photos some time soon. They are really interesting.

I’ve got so much to share that I don’t know where to begin.  Hang in there with me, I’m trying to get going with this blog again.  It’s tough after an extended break.   I have so much in my head that I truly don’t know what to share first.

Thanks for coming back, even though I’m irregular and unfocused. (If you think it’s bad here, you should see me in real life! Jeez Louise!)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 3:49 pm

    He is AMAZING!!! Honestly, if he keeps at it, he has the potential to be a photography wonder!

  2. November 8, 2010 3:55 pm

    He SO has your knack for photography and “seeing” the shot!

    Also? I need to say that it warms my heart that you’re back and I get to see all this fabulousness again!

    You back enough to be interested in Blissdom? Tickets on sale now!!!

  3. November 8, 2010 5:29 pm

    Happy belated birthday Adam. Great photos! It’s funny how usually mom is rarely in any pictures because she is usually taking them, hopefully things will be different for his family in years to come. So great to have you back blogging again!

  4. November 8, 2010 6:26 pm

    Poor, poor Sam falling asleep at the table! Sounds like so much fun, though!! Love all the pictures!

  5. November 8, 2010 6:27 pm

    those are really great! I think he does have a knack!

  6. November 8, 2010 8:21 pm

    Hey Girl!

    I’ve missed your shiny presence around these parts! So sorry I missed you at Disney. I had a little medical emergency that took up most of my October, but all is well now. It looks like you had a great time. And your boy certainly has his mama’s talent with a camera!

  7. November 8, 2010 9:26 pm

    Oh wow, looks like you all had a terrific time. Don’t worry about trying to catch us all up, it’ll happen in it’s own good time. Meanwhile, breathe and enjoy the fall.

    Gorgeous photos. I’m asking Santa/Birthday Fairy (my b-day is two weeks after Christmas) for a macro lens. Think it’d be so much fun to play with!

    : ) Katie

  8. November 8, 2010 11:33 pm

    I’m SO glad you’re back! How I’ve missed that awesome photography! Your boy has quite the knack for it! Fantastic!

  9. November 9, 2010 2:31 am

    Adam totally has his mothers photography talent! Honestly, I am so insanely jealous!! He’s got me beat any day of the week! 🙂

  10. November 9, 2010 12:51 pm

    Great pics!! Poor Sam, partied out. I doubt there’s any other way to do it at Disney.
    That zombie looks like Meg Ryan.

  11. November 9, 2010 5:18 pm

    He does have a knack for photography! Awesome photos!

  12. November 10, 2010 12:10 am

    Wow, I’m truly impressed with his pictures! I really like the zombie one…and the stone wall. It IS hard to get back to blogging after an extended break, but I’ve missed your posts and pictures. Glad you’re back!

  13. November 10, 2010 3:16 pm

    He is a GREAT photographer! How fun! My kids just take terrible pictures, so I never let them have the camera. It looks like a fun trip!

  14. November 11, 2010 3:37 pm

    That’s awesome he is a photographer too. Those pictures are so cool, but I particularly like the one of the scary people. Looks like so much fun. I’ve missed you!

  15. November 12, 2010 12:01 am

    I am so, so glad you’re back, LL! Great photos, and what an adorable 12 year old boy. My daughter just turned 12 too, and isn’t it a fun age?

    I love that you have these trips, and that you guys do so many adventures with your boys. Can’t wait to hear about more of them!

Leave a Reply

