Skip to content

Off the Grid!

November 18, 2010

The family and I are leaving today for our Thanksgiving vacation.  We’re getting an early start on it, cause, that’s just how we roll.  (Except with things like schedules, paperwork,  and any number of other things that the anal retentives of the world have deemed important and expect us to get in a snit about with them.)

We are heading out today when the kids get out of school. (If I can wait that long!)  And we’ll be back the Sunday after Thanksgiving, so if you don’t hear from me, I’ve got a good excuse, better than a doctor’s note!

I’m sort of nervous about posting my plans here for the world to see, but since I don’t think too many people from my town read my blog, it’ll be okay!  And I have the alarms set, cameras at the ready, police waiting on go, watch dogs ready to eat their legs, and tire eaters in the drive way.  I think I’m good.  Oh, and my mother in law is going to come by, and she’s fierce.  Nope, don’t want to mess with her. (This may or may not be a bit of an exaggeration when it comes to describing my mother in law, but if thieves are reading this, do you really want to find out?)

We are off to see the mouse again.  It is sort of overkill, but as I mentioned before, we joined Disney Vacation Club, and had the points to go.  We like traveling during Thanksgiving.  It takes the pressure off of me and keeps it really fun.  And since we bought Annual passes last time we were there, we’ve only got to buy food this round, so even though it is overkill, it’s a good time.

 

I tried to get so much done before we left, but am kind of a drop out and didn’t.  But, unless there is some weird shift in the universe, it’ll be here when I get back.  Mocking me.

Matter of fact, I’m not even making beds this morning, cause I wanted to piddle around on this blog.

I’m the family driver, I don’t know why, I just like it.  I drive everywhere we go.  Always.  Wayne’s good with it too.  He doesn’t even mind looking like he’s had a DUI since he never drives.  So,  I’m hoping to make good time today, with sunset at like 4:30, it’s hard not to get sleepy!   Say a little prayer for us, we’re looking at 9 hours in the car and I’ll drive the whole way.  Good times.  We’ll probably make it to the Georgia/Florida line tonight and get up and do a couple of hours in the morning.  But, it’s still a lot of car time.

This trip, we’re staying at Disney’s Saratoga Springs.  I’ll let you know what we think.  This is our first time at this resort.  It wasn’t my first choice, but I had to get on a waiting list to get in during this time, so we took what we could get.

Anyway, too much rambling! Sorry!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving! And if you don’t live in a Thanksgiving celebrating part of the world, have some turkey anyway.  It’s good for the family business!

 

I may try to blog a picture of two if I have the energy to type when I come in at night!

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 12:13 pm

    Jealous x 3. Have a GREAT time!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

  2. November 18, 2010 12:18 pm

    Have a great trip!! With all the deals how can you not go again.

  3. November 18, 2010 3:00 pm

    First, have a great time! second, try to avoid all the disasters during and after Disney like what happened with trip #1!

  4. Kay Horton permalink
    November 18, 2010 3:55 pm

    Have a wonderful time!!!!! We are going to Donna’s and Danna’s for Thanksgiving. I cook the turkey and dressing. We all chip in and do the rest – always do sweet potato casserole. My parents are coming, too. We can’t wait to see all of them. We go next Tues. I hope you all enjoy every second of the trip! Don’t let the crowds rattle you!

  5. November 19, 2010 8:21 am

    Have a great time! We used to live in Boca Raton, FL, about 3 hours south of Disney. We would go at Thanksgiving all the time and beat the crowds!

  6. November 19, 2010 3:01 pm

    Safe travels and enjoy your trip. Can’t wait to see more pictures. Happy Thanksgiving Girl!

  7. November 20, 2010 6:34 pm

    If you visit Disney any more this year, they will most likely name a new princess after you. And Lula Lola may just be the best princess name EVER.

    Have fun, you gypsy! Can’t wait to hear about it.

  8. November 21, 2010 6:00 am

    Thanksgiving at Disney?!? That sounds incredible!!

  9. December 7, 2010 10:21 am

    So jealous. My three year old has been begging us to take her. We’ll get there, just probably not for a while. I hope you had a fabulous trip!

Leave a Reply

