Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 23, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve forced myself into a little blogging exile.  If you do this blogging thing, you know, it can eat up a lot of time.  And lately, that’s something I haven’t had much of.  So, now, the shopping is all done, the kids stayed up late watching The Polar Express and the house is actually pretty clean. So, here I am! Allowing myself to spend some time with my laptop while the kids are hibernating!

I’ve missed all of you and can’t wait to catch up!

I’ve got tons to tell, but this morning, wanted to share two quick things.

My son is a nut.  Which son, you may ask?  And the answer to that would depend on the day!  Today, is Sam’s day.  Actually, Sam’s been nutty for a while now.  He’s gotten the nut prize for the month of December.

There are all sorts of sleep disorders, so I hear.  But, he’s developed a new one.  I’m pretty sure.

He’s a sleep hell raiser.

Yep.  You heard it right.  My five-year old raises hell in his sleep.  And that, in turn, interrupts my sleep.  I am not a fan of SHR-Sleep Hell Raising, as we’ll refer to it from here on out.  I thought I’d share the warning signs.

  • Sleep stomping.  It’s a degree above sleep walking.  An angry, jolly green giant with PMS kind of walk.
  • Screaming.  Not in terror, but in anger.  Over what?  You’ll never know.  Since everyone under your roof is asleep and no one is bothering the nut job afflicted one.
  • Not having a K in their name can set them off for hours.  The fact that you had no idea they’d want a “K” in their name while they were in utero makes this one  tough to avoid.  Being called “Sam Kay” repeatedly for an hour while being patted on the behind by an exhausted father seems to help with the tragedy that is “K-lessness”
  • Getting naked and turning on other people’s sinks, while looking at them like they stink when they question your actions, is normal for SHR.
  • A normally cuddly child will flinch when touched and may actually growl, like an animal. Rough nights, friends.

If you or someone you love suffers from SHR, you know that if affects the whole family.  Tired people just don’t function well.  My only advice is to ride it out, help them get their clothes back on, turn the sink off,  give them a “K”,  be patient with their angry words and gestures, endure the eye rolls and huffy breaths(they really do think you’re annoying them, not the other way around.) it’s survival people.   And hopefully it won’t last forever.

Here’s a picture of Sam and the love of his life at Polar Express Day at their school.  You can’t look at him and tell that he’s affected by SHR, can you?

Happy Holidays! I hope you sleep well and have sweet dreams!

And when you get a minute, check me out! I’m a finalist in The Pioneer Woman’s Holiday Bokeh photo contest.  My jaw dropped when I saw it this morning!

This is my picture, in case you have a life and aren’t interested in spending your morning checking out my picture! This is an old top that I had when I was a kid.  This summer, I picked up a few other retro toys at some antique stores and I’m decorating with them this year.  I’m actually kind of digging it!

Take care! Can’t wait to catch up!

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays! Feliz Navidad!

Love ya!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 10:32 am

    I am laughing so hard! I know it’s not funny to live through, but it’s funny to read! I hope he outgrows it quickly!

    And Congrats on the contest! You are a fabulous photographer! So good to see you around!

  2. December 23, 2010 11:37 am

    You are funny! While SHR is funny to read about not funny for you and Wayne, I’m sure.
    Great to see you pop up in my reader. Merry merry to you.

  3. December 23, 2010 3:28 pm

    I love Sam and his girlfriend, and I adore that photo!!

  4. December 23, 2010 7:55 pm

    Merry Christmas to one of my favs!! Good to see you here today. And that Sam? I’d take him.

    That picture is beautiful, LL! You sure have an eye, and congrats on the contest!

  5. December 24, 2010 6:37 am

    Oh how I’ve missed you!!

    I am cracking up over Sam wanting a K in his name when he’s suffering from SHR… Poor little nutty kid! 🙂

  6. December 24, 2010 7:48 am

    Poor guy!! I hope the sleepwalking/sheep hell raising ends soon! And congrats! Its a beautiful photo!

  7. December 25, 2010 5:59 pm

    I’m going to have to ask my husband if I suffer from SHR – I’ve been sleep walking/talking/Doing for years now. I wonder if I qualify.

    LOVE that photo, BTW.

  8. December 27, 2010 3:14 pm

    That Sam is a cutie! Hopefully the sleep hell raising will dissipate soon – that’s no fun for either of your.

    Your photo in the contest is beautiful! I can see why you are a finalist!

Trackbacks

  1. White Day After Christmas!!!!!!! « Lula Lola
  2. The Tooth Fairy is Evil — Lula Lola
  3. White Day After Christmas!!!!!!! — Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

