Skip to content

The Most Lame Christmas Pajamas Ever

December 28, 2010

Every year, on Christmas eve, the kids get to open one gift.  And it’s always a pair of Christmas pajamas.

This year, on Christmas eve morning, it occurred to me that I had forgotten the pjs!

So, I took off to the closest store, 30 minutes away.  Pickings were pretty slim.  And after an early morning dead battery and an impending trip to the grocery store, I had to grab something quick.

And I like for their pjs to match or at least coordinate.

I finally dug around until I found three pairs of Christmas pajamas, ugly, but Christmas-y all the same.  And seriously at this point, all the normal people had the cute ones wrapped and under their tree.  So, I’d found their sizes and was on my way to finalizing this most important decision.

And this lady, who wasn’t even standing at the same rack that I was, speaks to me in a LOUD voice.  I’d go as far as to say, hostile voice.

“I WAS LOOKING AT THOSE, BEFORE YOU PUT THEM IN YOUR BUGGY.”<—-southernease for shopping cart

“Ma’am?” I said.

“I WAS LOOKING AT THOSE, BEFORE YOU PUT THEM IN YOUR BUGGY.”

“Which ones were you looking at?(Seriously? There were three pairs left that matched in the entire store and she was going to take one of them.  Seriously?)

“WELL, WHAT SIZE DO YOU HAVE IN THERE?”

“Which ones did you need?”

“WHAT SIZE DO YOU HAVE?”

And I said, “YOU WEREN’T EVEN NEAR THE RACK AND DON’T KNOW WHAT SIZE I HAVE IN THIS CART AND YOU’RE STILL GOING TO TRY TO TAKE THEM?  HUH-UH.  NO WAY.  NOT HAPPENING.  MY KIDS ARE GOING TO HAVE THESE UGLY PAJAMAS TONIGHT AND THAT’S ALL THERE IS TO IT.  YOU AREN’T BULLYING ME INTO TAKING THE UGLY JOE BOXER PAJAMAS.  NO SIRREE.”

Well, that’s what I was thinking anyway.

I actually said, something like, “I have a 4/5, 6/7 and a 10/12.  Which one did you need?”

She decided on the 6/7.  And then started talking about how stupid it was to buy Christmas pajamas because they couldn’t wear them afterwards.  I pointed out the santa hats on the ugly smiley faces and she quick gave them back to me.  I left before she decided she wanted them back.

And here they are.  My three kids in the not so cute, hard won, Christmas pajamas.  And they didn’t even complain about looking lame.  I love those kids!

 

Next year, they’re going to have the cutest ones ever and I’m ordering them online so I don’t have to fight for them!

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 9:29 am

    What a wonderful photo! I think the pjs are cute; they definitely don’t fit in the category of “most lame ever!”

  2. December 28, 2010 9:54 am

    Me too, they’re cuter than what you led us to believe.

    And the boys look dashing in them!

  3. December 28, 2010 11:52 am

    They are NOT lame. Not at all! And even if they were a little, they don’t recognize it yet, because it’s just part of the tradition! I love this story, and it makes the pj’s great!

  4. Klz permalink
    December 28, 2010 1:19 pm

    Those are some cute kids!! They’d make any Pajamas look good

  5. December 28, 2010 3:22 pm

    They aren’t so bad. You gotta watch out for those crazy ladies. They’re everywhere!

  6. December 28, 2010 9:57 pm

    LL, if you actually told her that, I would have gotten into my car, driven to your place and planted a big ol’ wet kiss on your cheek because i would have been overcome with pride!

  7. December 29, 2010 1:28 am

    What a cool tradition… and what a good mom you are for going above and beyond to make it happen this year! I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have been that gracious to the grumpy pajama snatcher.

    And for the record… I don’t think the PJ’s are lame, either.

  8. December 29, 2010 10:41 am

    Wow… I just… wow. Those PJ’s are certainly LOUD. =) But that customer? Wow, she just took the cake!

  9. December 29, 2010 7:09 pm

    The PJ’s are insane! But those boys? Adorable, LL!

  10. December 30, 2010 2:21 pm

    Three handsome boys!

    I hope you all have a wonderful, happy and healthy 2011!

  11. January 2, 2011 6:48 pm

    Who does that lady think she is? Seriously? So what if she was looking at them? She didn’t pick them up. Sheesh. Your boys look cute, though. : )

  12. January 6, 2011 5:52 pm

    So funny!! I can’t believe you were actually going to give her a pair!! You are so kind. And…I think they are pretty darn cute!

Leave a Reply

