Skip to content

Snow Day #2!!!!!

January 10, 2011
tags: , ,

Snowing! I can’t believe it’s snowing here, two times in one winter.  If you missed it, here are some pictures from the snow we had the day after Christmas!  It was so pretty, but gone the next day.

We must be living right, cause we’ve got a beautiful one today!  That’s almost unheard of in our part of the world.  I think this is supposed to be the most snow we’ve had since I was a junior in high school.  In….wait for it….1988.  We’ve got something like 8 inches.

My guess is we won’t have school all week!  We were off today anyway. But, here in the south, we are so unequipped for the weather that the threat of flurries will cause delays and sometimes we’ll get snow days off.  This should close us down for a week or better.  Too many back roads around this part of the world.

I wrote a post about it a while back, but people in this part of the world go nuts stocking up on milk and bread each time there’s the threat of snow.  A friend posted the funniest pictures on facebook last night.  The bread aisles at Wal Mart were completely empty.  The coolers didn’t have a single carton of milk left.    And the Little Debbie aka Devil in the Blue Dress department took a pretty good beating as well.

I guess southerners everywhere are enjoying bread, milk and Swiss Cake Rolls this afternoon!

And though, I’ll hate it when we lose some of our spring break, I’m going to enjoy it right now.  Because, it is lovely and rare and fun!

Sadly, I forgot to charge my camera battery and only have a couple of pictures, but we had a great time playing in it.

(No children were injured in the making of these snow day photos!)

Hope it’s pretty where you are today!  Think I’ll have another bowl of snow cream!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 5:48 pm

    WE HAD ONE TOO, TODAY!!!!!! We didn’t get as much as you all, but just like you, too many folks living on top of hills here in NW Arkansas and there’s a lot of ice underneath. We’re supposed to get a couple more inches tonight, so we’ve got our fingers crossed for tomorrow! : )

    P.S. And yes, we have Swiss Rolls in our pantry, too! ; )

    • January 11, 2011 8:23 am

      Yay! Good times for both of us! Hope y’all had a good time playing in it! Have a Swiss Cake roll for me!

  2. January 10, 2011 7:53 pm

    I LOVE these action snow shots, LL!

  3. January 10, 2011 9:18 pm

    I am jealous. We have snow but not enough to cancel school. I am desperate for a snow day. There’s more coming this week. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

    • January 11, 2011 8:22 am

      If we get flurries, they’ve been known to cancel school. And I never complain. I love living somewhere that the streets fold up so easily! I hope you get enough to keep you home! Fingers crossed!

  4. January 10, 2011 11:52 pm

    In this post, I can hear the gypsy in you, LL! You are giddy about the snow-day, not a care in the world (well, except for the lack of Little Debbie maybe).

    Love the pictures, and hope you have some fun snow days! Who cares about Spring Break right now?!

    • January 11, 2011 8:20 am

      You’re exactly right! Live in the moment! 🙂 This does bring out my inner gypsy!

  5. January 11, 2011 11:47 am

    We are about to get a foot tomorrow. *sigh* I wish I was as excited as you are! All I can think is, “Crap. The husband will be home all day. The toddler will be trapped inside. And even though we live in New England and people should be used to this, the grocery stores will be empty of bread, milk and Swiss Rolls when I stop by this evening.” Bah. Humbug.

  6. January 11, 2011 12:22 pm

    Snow days are the BEST!

    Great photos! I love the one third from bottom especially, with your son in the green coat. The composition is perfect.

    And? I’m SO jealous! Here in sucky Virginia, we’ve got nuthin!

  7. January 11, 2011 1:40 pm

    And this! This is SO much fun! When you live in Kansas/Colorado, you definitely take snow for granted.

    I think the equivalent, for us, is if it would “ocean” every so often.

    Like, once every 10 years we’d get an ocean/beach day.

    Yeah. That.

  8. January 11, 2011 11:21 pm

    I remember when we lived in Texas and it snowed like that. We were starved for snow and spent at least 8 hours a day out in it! Hmmm…I’m not feeling that way up here in the great North…but I must say…it is gorgeous!

  9. January 12, 2011 2:21 am

    They look like they’re having such a blast!

  10. January 12, 2011 11:15 pm

    Great pics! I wish WE had received enough to make a decent bowl of snow cream. I feel I’ve not really experienced the winter without it. However, we have lots of back roads and hilly areas so it’s given us 3 wonderful snow days so far. Bring on more snow!!!

    PS I have enjoyed visiting your site. Come see me sometime.

Leave a Reply

