Skip to content

Meet My Future Daughter-In-Law

April 29, 2010

I promise after this post, that I’m giving Sam a rest. It looks like I’ve only got the one kid sometimes. He’s so tolerant of me and my camera. And his brothers are just done with having their pictures taken. And top that with all the recent Sam drama, and it looks like I’m all about him. I am all about him, but I’m all about the other two just as much!
But, here we go, the last Sam post for a day or two. Or at least the last exclusively Sam post!

Caroline is Sam’s oldest friend. She’s five. She was at the hospital the day he was born, so I think that constitutes calling her his oldest friend. She happens to belong to one of my closest friends. And we’ve had the good luck that they love each other as much as we do. Her mom is a stay at home mom as well, and together, we’ve been raising kids for a lot of years. Since we’re always doing things together, the kids are naturally together and it’s our good fortune that they actually look forward to it.

Now, not to paint an unrealistically rosy picture, they don’t always get along. They’ve ridden down the road in car seats side by side trading licks with Golden Books. But, for the most part, they are inseparable. They go to preschool together three days a week. And though they allow a select few to join them, they are mostly a duo. And woe to you if you get in the way.

His teachers tell us funny and at the same time, horrifying stories about them. One of our favorites is when Sam, who does love the ladies, wants to play with some of the other little girls. Caroline is not a fan. And if he dares make this mistake, we’ve been told that Caroline acts very sad and stands near her cubby looking hurt. When Sam catches on, he spends the rest of the day, “petting” her. Or so we’ve been told. We’ve not seen the “petting,” but have seen them together enough to imagine it. It cracks me up that even at an early age, she’s figured out how to work the fellows! Or at least my little fellow.

They ask to see each other every single day. And on days they don’t see each other, they end the day asking about the next. We consider her our daughter in law! 🙂 And if they could make the call on stuff like this right now, they’d most certainly tie the knot! I know someday they’ll outgrow each other, and when that day comes, I’ll be really sad! They’ve adored each other for so long and it’ll be like a piece of their childhood drifting away.

Here’s a picture from Sam’s preschool birthday party. I told them to let me take their picture. Immediately, they assume prom picture pose. What the heck? Every time I get out the camera, they strike a pose that can perhaps, someday, be recreated by their wedding photographer! We’ve certainly never posed them like this, it’s all of their own doing!

Next year, they start kindergarten. Our last babies, leaving the nest. The idea that they’d have each other as they started school is kind of tempting. But, we’ve decided that if we ever want them to make other friends that they really don’t need to be together. So, we’re requesting that they not be in the same class. They’d be furious is they knew. But, it seems like the only way they’ll spread their wings. We’ll see. Hope we’re doing the right thing.

Because, one day, they’ll surely find other friends and probably won’t need each other nearly as much.  And that makes me kinda sad. When that happens, I’ll realize that they are outgrowing a major part of their childhoods. And since they are the babies, it’s going to be that much sadder.

But, for now, it’s Sam and Caroline all the way!

Wouldn’t she make the cutest daughter in law?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 6:50 am

    She is beautiful! That has got to be the cutest picture ever. The two of them really do make a beautiful couple.

    And let me tell you something, you never know.

    I’ll try to keep this short but it’s a bit complicated. My husband’s business partner and his wife are some of our best friends. When my hubs and I were first married, his business partner was not and he used to do everything with us, including when we went to buy our first house. He came along for the ride and bought the house next door to ours. A little while later he met his future wife. Our 2 oldest, my daughter and their son lived next door to each other until they were 5, the best of buddies, doing everything together. Then we moved and they bought a house, 10 houses away from ours. We had 2 more kids as did they and our kids were more like brothers and sisters than friends. Then my hubs and I found 14 acres of property in the country we loved. We didn’t want anything too big, so we asked them if they wanted to split it. So, now, once again, for the last 5 years, we have been next door neighbors.

    Our two oldest have been the closest out of the bunch throughout all these years. My girl went off to college this year and their boy, even though they have never had anything but a close friendship, pines for her. The minute she gets home for a visit, he is here. It seems like she misses him more than she does us. So, you never know.

    They are just perfectly adorable.

    • April 29, 2010 7:46 am

      Joann, does it look like they might have a future together as more than friends? I’m rooting for them! What a great story! My husband and I were joined at the hip for many years. Great friends. In fact, so great that I cooked an engagement dinner for him at my house while he asked someone else to marry him. Thankfully, we woke up in time and realized we were made for each other! It could happen! And there’s nothing better than being married to a friend. They’ll love you like no one else could!
      I’d be so glad if this little pair got together. Her mom and I would have so much fun, “co-grandparenting!”

  2. jane permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:40 am

    Oh my goodness. I can SO see that photo enlarged on an easel at their wedding reception! They are adorable. And Joann’s comment above almost made me cry. Sweet post!

  3. April 29, 2010 10:38 am

    That picture is adorable! Definitely get lots of pictures of them now- in case they do end up together down the road. I agree that one would be adorable enlarged at a wedding reception! 🙂

  4. April 29, 2010 12:34 pm

    Ahhh! That picture is so cute!

  5. April 29, 2010 3:11 pm

    That’s so fun, and they both look adorable in this photo!

  6. April 29, 2010 6:58 pm

    Wow!! That is awesome! I am soooooo close to biting the bullet and buying PE…just trying to justify it! And, I hear so much about Lightroom! Awesome photo, Lula Lola!!

  7. April 30, 2010 1:59 am

    Those two are freaking ADORABLE! How funny that they always pose that way.

Trackbacks

  1. T-R-O-U-B-L-E « Lula Lola
  2. The End of Preschool Celebrated with Hysterical Father « Lula Lola
  3. Round 2 of Field Day « Lula Lola
  4. Kindergarten Update — Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

