Skip to content

Beach Roses Before and After

May 27, 2010

Monica at Pixel Perfect gives us a great chance to play with our photos and share them.  If you enjoy editing or just enjoy seeing what others do with their photos, hop over and check her out!

You can link your own photos while you’re there.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My husband and I went to the beach by ourselves a couple of weekends.  It was a working weekend, lots of cleaning and trying to get ready for summer.  But, I had a chance to walk around with my camera just a little.  I was walking my dog one morning and grabbed my camera.  My neighbor had a pretty rose blooming and I wandered over to take a picture.   It didn’t turn out too great.

Here’s the straight out of the camera. Blech!

This one needed to be warmed up a little.  And, I thought it could use a little roughing up.

Bet you didn’t know that roses and “roughing up” go hand in hand?

Here’s another view of the roses.

I was having some real technical difficulties with the camera.  Not sure what was going on with me.  I was all over the place.

Thanks to Lightroom and Photoshop Elements, I was able to salvage these. Here’s the after.

A little better, I think.

These were taken with a Nikon D5000 using a 35mm f1.8 lens.  And were edited in Lightroom and Photoshop Elements.

Don’t forget to link yours up!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:10 am

    Wow – you completely changed the color of the roses! I love them as the deeper red better.

  2. May 27, 2010 8:48 am

    Looks like fine art! I love the golden red color so much better. Lightroom is my favorite photography tool! It’s shocking what you can fix with it!

    Kudos for being able to walk your dog and take pics. Surely not the easiest thing to do simultaneously! 🙂

    Donna
    Our Blog: Double Happiness!

  3. May 27, 2010 8:54 am

    Beautiful!

    These posts always make me panic, thinking, “I need a good camera! And editing software! And I need it NOW!” Alas, I have none. Maybe next year.

  4. May 27, 2010 9:24 am

    I may not know what I am talking about, but I think the pictures were pretty before and after. I will say though, that that last picture is just gorgeous. The roughing up really does go with roses. Nicely done!

  5. May 27, 2010 10:16 am

    Wow – that’s beautiful!

  6. May 27, 2010 10:25 am

    I love your edits! I wish I knew how to do that 🙂

    • May 27, 2010 10:26 am

      You should download the free Lightroom trial, it’s great and very easy to play with!

  7. May 27, 2010 10:49 am

    Wow you made those photos great!

  8. May 27, 2010 10:50 am

    Every time you have these posts, I vow to learn and make great pictures like you, but … it never happens. Some day. Maybe, when I’m done cleaning up dog poo. Thanks for the beauty. Love seeing them.

  9. May 27, 2010 11:04 am

    Fantastic!! I love your edits! Wow….

  10. May 27, 2010 11:35 am

    As always, perfection darling!! I love “roughed up” roses. Lovin’ the textures you used. Did you make them?

  11. May 27, 2010 12:36 pm

    Wow! Fantastic work!! I love both afters very much. I just love adding texture to photos. 🙂 You did a great job!

  12. Tara permalink
    May 27, 2010 1:04 pm

    Love this…I love the texture…I really love the 2nd edit.

  13. May 27, 2010 1:12 pm

    I looove the outcome! They are beautiul! 🙂

  14. May 27, 2010 1:24 pm

    BEAUTIFUL edit! I could see this photo hanging on my wall or something. Great job!

  15. May 27, 2010 3:16 pm

    They are simply gorgeous! Every time I see you do a photo post I remeber I need to do Photoshop more… you are just so inspiring!!!

    Where do you find the time? Blogging is so time consuming. I used to digital scrapbook, but now I write and can’t do both.

  16. May 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    These are GORGEOUS!!
    I thought even the SOOC shots were beautiful… and the edits are stunning! I especially love how “artsy” the first edit is. It almost looks like a painting!
    And I love the bokeh in the second one… the edit brought that out so much more.

  17. May 27, 2010 4:12 pm

    These are great now! You could print them large, and frame them! How did you totally change the color of the roses themselves?

  18. May 27, 2010 4:12 pm

    Very pretty edits!

  19. May 27, 2010 5:11 pm

    WOW!! LOVE these edits!!! Great job!

    Thank you for your email! I will email you back tonight! 🙂

  20. May 27, 2010 7:13 pm

    Wow, Amazing! I would love to know how to do this!

  21. May 27, 2010 7:14 pm

    The edits are so beautiful!! They look like paintings. You should definitely frame these. 🙂

  22. May 27, 2010 8:22 pm

    Love the second photo!

    I left you something over on my blog today. =)

  23. May 27, 2010 8:33 pm

    Nice work! The texture really works in the first one.

  24. May 27, 2010 8:44 pm

    Holy cow, girl! You’re gettin’ good! Love your edits!

  25. May 27, 2010 8:56 pm

    Wow! I love the primative and watercolor look of your edits, especially the first one! They both turned out great. Definitely one of my favorites so far! Happy Thursday… 🙂

  26. May 27, 2010 11:48 pm

    WOW! they look so artistic – and from such crappy before shots – good job!

  27. May 28, 2010 12:06 am

    Gorgeous!

  28. May 28, 2010 9:45 am

    Very cool! One of these days I need to get some editing software!

  29. May 28, 2010 1:19 pm

    beautiful edit, you really made it easy on the eyes!

  30. Kiki permalink
    June 4, 2012 1:55 am

    the second and the fourth pics look like paintings…..

  31. May 20, 2014 4:03 am

    ‘ Motion Graphics – With the progression in the web,
    utilization of movement illustrations came to fore ground.
    service, so there is plenty of room to under cut them in terms of
    price. Innovation is a key to being able to actually sell your products.

Leave a comment