Skip to content

Scary Children

August 8, 2010

The skate park is scary.  

I’ve seen this look before.  And it is scary.

Thankfully, I headed disaster off with threats of “no more skateboarding” and he sat down and rode.  He still has that scary look though.  Sorry no pictures, I felt like I needed to be there to break his fall.

And don’t even get me started on this kid.  He arrived on this planet scaring me and hasn’t stopped in his entire 7 years.

See what I mean? Scary.

And if I needed further proof of how scary he is….I submit this scary photo.

My first-born is the “thinker” in the family.  He does not scare me. 

And I am so thankful.

If I fell, it would scare me.  I would not be making this face.  What’s the matter with these people?

Watching their scary brother doesn’t scare them.  Once again, I find myself with questions.  Cause it’s scary.

I want to apologize for my scary overuse of sun flare in this very scary post. 

I hope your day is less frightening than mine. 

When they get up,  they’re asleep right now. 

 And I’m not scared at all.  But, I can feel it coming.

Have a nice day.   

P.S.  Don’t judge me.  I know they should have had on all sorts of safety gear.  I was being a scary mom.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 7:59 am

    Yowsa. Those are brave kids- skate boards scared me when I was their age!

  2. August 8, 2010 8:16 am

    I like the sun glare! It’s adds effect!

  3. August 8, 2010 9:07 am

    Boys! (said while shaking my head in exasperation)

  4. August 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Scary, indeed. Keegan and Presley both will probably give me too many moments like these. Wonder how many times my heart will stop? I love the shots. The sun flare is GORGEOUS!

  5. August 8, 2010 9:41 am

    Boys, indeed! I’ve had so many scary moments with mine… And skateboarding is definitely one of the scarier things to watch.

  6. August 8, 2010 10:40 am

    He definitely has a “take no prisoners” sort of glint in his eyes. I’m pretty sure that would scare the heck out of me, too.

  7. August 8, 2010 11:19 am

    I love the sun flare! Love it! And your kids are so much cooler than mine. Where the hell is our chess board anyway?….

  8. August 8, 2010 11:26 am

    My kids are still young (oldest is 5) but they are dying to learn how to skate board. Part of me loves the idea of them getting so much exercise. And the other part is terrified! Great pics.

  9. August 8, 2010 1:25 pm

    That look would scare me too. There’s all kinds of mischief there. He and my youngest would be great friends.

  10. August 8, 2010 3:22 pm

    Totally scary….maybe that should have been the Word of the Week??! I have a nephew who is fearless, and has all sort of scars and stories to back it up. And he’s only 9.

  11. August 8, 2010 4:08 pm

    You are a brave mom! From this way too overprotective mother, I think it’s good when we can just ‘let go’….a little. Pics are awesome as always!

  12. August 8, 2010 5:23 pm

    Tcha. Lovely lighting, all the way through. Some day we’re going to have a discussion about photography, and you’re going to teach me a thing or two.

    Mine got into skateboarding for about five minutes, until he fell down. I wish he’d do more things that scared me now. Mostly, I’m just scared watching him glued to the computer for three hours at a time. Takes after me WAY too much!

    Hope you’re having lots and lots and lots of fun. Mwah!

  13. August 9, 2010 2:26 am

    I love your rough and tumble boys so much! They’re not scary – they’re tough! 😉

  14. August 9, 2010 10:01 am

    We have a few fun skate parks around here. When my boys were younger we lived there. Guess they grew out of it. Thankfully! 🙂

  15. August 9, 2010 11:49 am

    I am SO not looking forward to Tater doing these crazy things! He’s a maniac already on his little bike with training wheels…I see lots of bumps, bruises, blood, and stitches in our future!

  16. August 9, 2010 3:41 pm

    You have boys and boys are always scary. I only have girls and when boys are around, I’m always all, “Careful! You’re going to die if you keep running and jumping like that! Are you ok? Be careful hanging headfirst off that tree?” While the boy moms don’t even bat an eye because they get this from sun up till sun down. I am a nervous wreck around boys. Girls don’t run and jump and hit things and use pretend weapons. They play with dolls. Now the flipside to that is when the teenage years hit. I’ll trade anyone’s boys for these girls as we speak. Seriously. I can fed ex them to you.

  17. August 9, 2010 8:28 pm

    The photos are great. I have one of those boys who’s scared me from the beginning, too. He’s probably taken 10 years off my life.

  18. August 9, 2010 10:44 pm

    These were as AWESOME and cute as they are scary! lol Love them, sun flair and all. 🙂

  19. August 10, 2010 11:31 pm

    Ha! Boys are always scary. I hate to say it, but it’s true!

  20. August 11, 2010 10:34 am

    To go back to fearless! I would not be making that face either if I fell and the recovery would take more that a kiss and a popsicle!

Leave a Reply

