Skip to content

A Series of Unfortunate Events

September 9, 2010

Featuring my family!

So, today doesn’t go down as one of my better ones.  As you may know, having three kids in school has turned me into an emotional wasteland.  I fear I must be going through “the change” or some such foolishness.

Anyway, I don’t know if it’s school starting, my baby in kindergarten, my oldest in middle school or the fact that I’m, perhaps, desperately needing an estrogen patch, I couldn’t tell you.  But, I’m a mess.

So, here’s the story of how I transformed a mess into a hot mess.

Today, my friend Bridget, mother of my future daughter in law, was visiting.  My husband came in and we were all shooting the breeze.  When my phone, which was charged and within earshot(wonders never cease, this was a rare occasion) rang.  It was the school.  When that number shows up on caller id, it’s always disturbing.

Sam’s sweet teacher was on the phone.  Sam had had an accident in the cafeteria.  Apparently, he raised his hand to ask to go to the restroom, but the teacher on lunch duty didn’t see him.  And since he wasn’t supposed to get up, he didn’t know what else to do and thus the accident.

He just started crying and wanted me.

That part broke my heart.  I’ve been at home wanting him for weeks now and I hated to think that for even a few minutes I wasn’t there if he needed me.

His teacher wasn’t sure what was wrong with him.  He (like I used to be before he started school) is not a crier.  And so, she thought he must have gotten his feelings hurt.  He wouldn’t get out of his seat and it took her a little while to realize what had happened.  The students left the cafeteria and she got him really close to her and walked him to the office and called me.  She made him feel much better.  She’s such a kind, motherly teacher that it makes me feel so much better about being away from him.  Especially after seeing how kind she was to my baby today.

{I could seriously just bite him.  He’s so sweet, those little freckles, and his messy hair and crinkled up collar!  I am head over heels in love with this very short, snaggle toothed little person, who talks almost as much as me!}

Well, of course, I jump in the car to pick him up.  My friend moved her car and was heading home.  And I was still on the phone with his teacher when I heard a crunch.  I’d run into my husband’s truck.  Leaving the side of his truck and the side of my car pretty banged up.

I don’t know why I was surprised.  Cause, seriously, who doesn’t wreck the family cars when their five-year old wets his pants.  Logical next step, don’t you think?

If your life’s ambition is to be a hot mess, anyway.

Thankfully, Bridget was still there and was able to take me to pick him up.

True to my new form, I was teary eyed the whole way there.  But, when I walked in, his brother Mack was teasing him about borrowing his clothes and then peeing in them.  They were giggling and laughing and I was glad that Mack was there.

They got home about half an hour early.

I spent the day trying not to look at my car and making many smoothies with cherries on top.

His teacher called this afternoon after I’d emailed her and I felt even better about him being in her class.  I could tell that she really is really concerned about him and all of her students.  He’s in good hands for sure.

Now, if his crazy mom can pull herself together, all will be right with the world.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:45 pm

    I’ve been so worried about you. Gosh. I’ve really thought about you a lot lately as I know the whole school thing has been tough on you. What a day huh? I’m just glad that the only after effects were a couple bruised cars and some embarrassed feelings.

    Don’t you just feel so much better knowing your child is in such good hands? Here’s to brighter days, drier pants and a package of estrogen cream!

  2. September 9, 2010 10:51 pm

    Oh LL, what a hot mess of a day! You have been on my mind too, such a harsh transition from the life of a beach gypsy to the quiet routine of a mom.

    I absolutely adore that pic of him and his freckles! I am glad that you had a chance to see the teacher really “in action” and know that she’s got his best interests in mind.

    Hang in there, wish I could come over and have coffee!

  3. September 10, 2010 2:10 am

    Ugggg! Smashing the cars is just like a mean joke after that! And poor Sam! 😦 Reminds me of Billy Madison though… You ain’t cool unless you pee your pants!!

    I’m sorry you’re having a hard time lady. I know how awful it is to just feel like you’re in a funk. But, I DO NOT think you are going through the change… no way pretty lady, too soon for you!

  4. September 10, 2010 10:52 am

    Aw, what a day for you! But here are the great things…1. You learned how awesome Sam’s teacher really is, and 2. You learned how great Mack is as a brother. I mean, you probably already knew that, but it just confirmed it!

    Hang in there! Things will get a little easier, and you’ll feel better. I’m thinking of you!

  5. September 10, 2010 1:02 pm

    Oh my goodness! I actually said “Oh Sh*t” out loud when reading about the truck crunch. So sorry, what a day! Your son IS so adorable, no wonder you’re so enamored with him. Very glad big brother was there to help him through it too. This whole Kindergarten thing is not an easy thing for anyone to get used to, so glad your son has you, his brother , and such a caring teacher:)

    Funny enough… I got my own call today from school (my son in Kinder) from the nurse…baby boy is sick and says he feels like throwing up. I threw on some clothes, grabbed baby girl and off we were…me teary eyed too b/c I wasn’t sure how he was doing. He’s better now that he’s at home.

    Have a wonderful weekend and I hope things start getting easier and easier. Hopefully your hubby was understanding about the truck 🙂

  6. September 10, 2010 5:48 pm

    Oh man!! What a day! He is a cutie pie and I’m so glad he has a wonderful teacher who was sensitive about the situation. As far as hitting your DH’s car, well, never fear. You aren’t alone. Last week, I backed into my neighbor’s RV with my giant bus. It was truly awful. I think I’ve hit more non-moving vehicles than anyone I know. And every time I look at the van I cringe. And I didn’t even have a good excuse, like rushing to the school. Nope. I just wasn’t paying attention. I blame it on hormones too. They are always to blame, right?

  7. September 10, 2010 5:57 pm

    Oh, he is so lucky to have such a wonderful teacher! I cringe to think about how some teachers might have handled the accident!

    If it makes you feel better, I backed into a neighbor’s parked car while rushing my son to the pediatrician when he was a baby. We moms tend to get tunnel vision when our babies are in distress!

  8. September 10, 2010 8:14 pm

    I feel so bad for you LL! I saw some of these tweets! you have had such a rough start this year! And I feel bad that same was just trying to do right and follow the rules! Poor guy!

    was it hard for him to go back the next day?? i don’t know how i’m going to be when kate’s at kindergarten all day next year!

  9. September 10, 2010 11:35 pm

    I am so sorry about the smash and crash. My best friend was in a hurry once to get her kids from school. She jumped in her car and smashed into her husband’s car because he never parked behind her and the reason he was parked behind her was because he had just come home from the dealership with a brand new car for her and he wanted to surprise her with it. He was going in the front door as she was going into the garage. The timing of the universe. Things could always be worse.

    I know this time is tough, but trust me, and this is coming from a mom who every summer vows I’m going to home school, it will get better. It will. And you’ll discover that in those hours there is this rediscovery of yourself, the one who is a little bit more than mom.

    Your Sam has a great teacher, tender mercies, at a time when you need it most. I’m glad she was able to help him make what could have been a very traumatic situation an easier one.

  10. September 11, 2010 10:11 am

    That story will be mildly amusing my summer and when Mack is roasting you both in a toast at Sam’s wedding, you will all be rolling with laughter because by then it will be hilarious. Thankfully he’s got a great teacher to get you both through the interim.

  11. September 13, 2010 7:47 pm

    Oh Carol Anne!! A hot mess indeed. Your focus was on your baby, Wayne’s car was in the way. Clearly. A superior kindergarten teacher is a huge blessing. We always packed a change of clothes. I’m feeling a little insecure without it now.

  12. September 16, 2010 10:14 pm

    Oh My goodness, I am so far behind on my blog reading, And I set down to catch up with you and your postings. When my youngest went to school last year, I too had tears all the time.. She was happy.. and She too had an accident one of the first few days of school.. I was so worried as I RAN all the way down the hill and back up to reach her. She was having a lovely chat with the secretary.. and we got her changed.. the whole time I am worried about her little ego.. and as we went back into the kindergarten area, there were about 30 little faces Asking for her.. with questions liek where wereYOu??? And as I stammer to voice something, she blurts out….” I had an accident okay???”” so much for fragile egos…

    Hang in there Mama!

  13. September 21, 2010 11:09 am

    How long until your vacation?? You need it!

Leave a Reply

